End of another tour :(


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu » Thamel
January 13th 2009
Published: January 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

10 Jan - leisurely morning, quick lunch in the hotel courtyard then an emotional farewell with Bhup. God, I hate these sad farewells. Just as you start to get to know people and make great friends, it's time for them to leave or me to move on...it''s all part of the travelling scene but it's not getting any easier. I've spent four weeks of my time in India and Nepal with him but hopefully when he visits the UK in the summer time, if I'm back, we'll be able to meet up in Edinburgh in August. It would be great to show him round my home town with such passion and generosity as he has done in his country. I spend the afternoon moping about being on my own again. However, there are still a few of the group left and Aussie Paul phones my room to invite me to dinner 😊 Have a fab Thai meal and say my farewells to Leslie.

11 Jan - meet Paul for breakfast. Spend most of the day updating blog and checking emails. In the evening we decide to do Italian this time...all types of food are available here in Thamel, the backpackers area of Kathmandu.

12 Jan - on my own today as Paul's headed off to the country. Bit of retail therapy required. It's FREEZING here and as I didn't expect to be in a cold country for such a long period of time when I left Edinburgh I need to stock up on warm clothes. Buy a thick fleece and a few pairs of woolly socks from one of the many (fake) North Face shops here as well as a purple and lilac (!) stripey jumper from one of the many handicraft shops. Regular power outages in Kathmandu and Nepal take some getting used to. There's only 8 hours of electricity per day and annoyingly, the hours the power is available change every few days, all v confusing. Today it's 12-4am (useful!) and 12-4pm that there is power. Although some places have generators for back up (like the hotel but it's restricted to one light in the room) the internet cafe at the end of the lane doesn't, and I can't head out for dinner as there's no street lighting...and, it's not advised that single, female travellers wander the streets of Thamel on their own. So it's early to bed then wake up at midnight to watch some TV until 3am!

13 Jan - I find a great organic cafe called Gaia which I then frequent most days I am here in Thamel. Very tasty food and friendly service with a sunny courtyard out back. Head to internet cafe but power hours have changed...electricity will be on from 4-8am and 4-8pm today...see what I mean! I meander along the streets of Kathmandu soaking up the sights, sounds and smells (and choking pollution which is really starting to affect my breathing). I'm heading to Durbar Square but end up turning back as I come across a Maoist demonstration...complaining about there being no rubbish collection for two weeks and also the electricity situation! Nepal is only 6 months into ceasing to be a Kingdom and is adjusting, with difficulty, to becoming an independent state. They seem to strike and demonstrate at anything!! Decide it's probably not wise to try and push my way through the rally so head back to the hotel. En route, I pop into a great bag shop...haven't bought a bag for MONTHS, so I've had withdrawal symptoms. However, I get my fix with not one but two gorgeous bags and a purse all for approx GBP28 😊 Paul has returned so meet him for dinner and then say our farewells as he's off to stay in an ashram for a few days. That's all of the group gone now...on my own, yet again.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.166s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0688s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb