Day 2 in Thamel


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu » Thamel
August 19th 2008
Published: August 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

one of the quieter streets in Thamelone of the quieter streets in Thamelone of the quieter streets in Thamel

Here for once i escaped the street, sat on a balcony and watched the play unfold
DAY 2.....
Well day 1 didn't go well; although i packed it well, i cut myself on a scalpel i had brought in my medical bag. I spent the first hour of my arrival suturing my right index finger with my left hand...not the best of starts.
I didn't really know what to expect from Kathmandu, and certainly i don't think Thamel is in any way representative of the city itself, but I find the ubiquitous traders and beggars oppressive. They are relentless in their pursuit of you and your cash; i have had to learn to ignore these advances, but it isn't easy. Thamel, as it says in the guide books, is a western representation of Nepal and it isn't a nice one. The shops alone line up next to each other for miles. When there is light to be seen between them, it is only to let you glimpse behind the scenes for a moment, just long enough to see the filth and desperate conditions these people live in.
I am off to Durbar square today to find what it was that brought me here, the stupas, the scenery, the people; unfortunately i fear that as it is a
As if the streets aren't busy enoughAs if the streets aren't busy enoughAs if the streets aren't busy enough

Calves wander the streets unfazed by the throng of activity around them.
tourist hotspot the traders will be there to welcome me.
I am setting off very late today, it's the afternoon and i have just woken up; the monsoon season is late this year and so the days are dry and very hot, despite this last night it rained heavily and the sound of it hitting the tin rooves kept me awake until 5am, i was sat in the dark for hours as we also had another power cut and i couldn't find any more candles.
As always, my love to my family


Advertisement



Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0239s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb