Top experiences


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu » Everest flight
October 27th 2007
Published: November 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well, I finally got to see some high mountains by booking the Everset flight at the last minute, so the weather didn't know I was going as my name wasn't on the ticket and consequently it behaved itself! I did have my doubts though, as it was very misty first thing in the morning (5.45am). We sat around for hours and hours at the domestic airport waiting for the visibility to impove and when we finally took off (11.50am!) it was still murky. However, as we rose above Kathmandu we suddenly got above the layer of smog into clear blue skies and sunshine.

We flew with Bhudda Air in a small 18 seater plane, so everyone got a window seat. The four of us who went from our trek were all in the back seats which get the best views as they are behind the wings. Also, one at a time, we were allowed to go into the cockpit to see the views from the front as we were approaching Everest - the pilots were more worried about turbulence than terrorists!

We got the most fantastic views of a load of mountains as we flew east towards the big one - Gauri Shankar (7134m), Melungste (7181m), Cho-Oyo (8201m), Gyachungkang (7652m), Pumoki (7161m), Nuptse (7855m), Lhotse (8516m), Chamlang (7319m) and Makalu (8463m). Impressed by my knowledge of the Himaylaya?! Well, actually I've read them off a brochure we were given. Infact, at first Everest (8848m) did not look as tall as Makalu, tucked away as it is behind Nuptse and Lhotse. We could clearly see it's very distinctive triangular shape as we got nearer to it, though we weren't close enough to spot anyone waving from the top!

The plane then circled to the left and flew back past everything again, but a lot nearer this time (seats on the right are best). We could see down to some of the high mountain lakes in the glaciers almost underneath us at one point. I was on the left, but still got a decent view standing up and looking over the top of Sarah - didn't get too many photos though as too engrossed in looking...

Back at the hotel we had top class accomodation - it was a 5* hotel and one of the most stunning I've ever been in, I think. Sarah and I had a suite that was so big you could have put a snooker table in the middle of it and still had space to walk round! Luxury, and such a fantastic hot shower. A far cry from the last few weeks of camping in cramped conditions, with damp gear, not to mention braying donkeys and Eau-de-Yak outside! We all had the most fantastic meal at their traditional restaurant on our final evening - with personalised menus no less, but it still involved rice and dhal!

Then my final rub with luxury was on the flight home, where I had a Business Class ticket. I tell you, that is the way to travel long-haul - I'll be checking out business class prices next time I fly long distance as this flight only cost me £420. They did not blink at eyelid when my baggage weighed in at 33kgs and I had a clean, peaceful lounge to wait in with free food, drink and fast internet at both Kathmandu and Bahrain - and at Bahrain I could have had a shower if I'd wanted to. On the flight to Bahrain I only had a wider, more reclining chair with a footrest, but on the 8 hour flight back to the UK my seat convereted into a bed, so I was able to lie flat and sleep properly. The food was excellent and served one course at a time in proper crockery (and with metal cutlery) although it did take an age to arrive. It seemed a shame not to go to town on the free, good quality champagne and wines...

The only downside was that I had to breathe the same filtered air as the plebs in Economy, so I picked up a foul cold during the flight, which knocked me out for the first week of being home. So I was not able to see how fit I'd become from my high altitude trekking. However, being used to not having enough oxygen stood me in good stead, as walking up stairs with a blocked nose proved no problem!

I've got all my slides back and will get them sorted over the next few weeks while I'm up in Scotland job hunting (although I'm not sure if I want a job just yet as I'd love to go back to Ladakh this winter...). I'll try to put some photos on this site, and will organise some slide shows for those of you at home - I promise I won't make you sit through all 1276 of them, plus the digital ones and the clips!

Hope to see/speak with you all soon
Cheers
Helen

Advertisement



8th November 2007

Slide show mandatory
Get down here with those slides as ap, we would love to see them, i think we culd manage 300 or more in one session!! but leave the cold at home. All the best and good luck in Scotland Sue et al

Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0618s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb