My lovelies


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Chitwan
August 7th 2013
Published: August 28th 2013
Edit Blog Post

PabitraPabitraPabitra

Sorting rice. She uses the thing to toss it all in the air and catch it and then had to just pick out the last bits of rice which were/weren't out of their little golden shells. Pabitra was my united pal. Always at my side, usually holding my water bottle and notebook hostage
A few pictures of the kids and the area...deal! By the third day they were warmed up to us pretty well and even the older kids were talking a bit. They are real kids so a picture can't capture anything but they're wonderful. You've got pushier kids who get your camera and take a thousand pictures. The boy who entertains himself constantly with his aerobic abilities. No fear. One kid you can see the spark of misbehavior in his eye but he is usually pretty good. I knew these kids barely any time but I am so sappy. I miss them an absurd amount.

There was a month-long holiday so the younger kids stayed home all day and we just hung out and played. Play cards, get crushed in chess by the little geniuses, build card houses, I taught them uno, whatever we wanted. The kids never expected us to entertain them either. They just do what they want and invite you along. If we think of something they join in. If you know me at all, you know very little in life is better to me than hanging out with kids.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

JoshuaJoshua
Joshua

He's' beautiful. This boy is one of those people you want to just follow around and learn everything about because they're just happy and content and I want to be just like them. I would always find him around a corner and I would ask what he's doing "nothing" and he really just does nothing but he's happy hah. He also does a lot of cleaning and whatever needs done, he's on top of it.
SusmitaSusmita
Susmita

Smiles, so many smiles. I think her english is not as good as others. She's a little quieter.
MijashMijash
Mijash

Mishash and Devendra patiently...beyond patiently...tried to teach me this game of flicking plastic circles into other ones to make them go in the corner pockets. They spent over an hour straight just putting disks right in the corners for me so I could knock them in the hole hah. Amazing.
CardsCards
Cards

We played a lot of cards. These kids have a few games and they will play the same thing for hours at a time. It's amazing. I get bored and have to go walk around ha
Card HousesCard Houses
Card Houses

They never tire. In my american mind I thought "these kids need building blocks or something" when I saw them building with cards and then realized this is exactly the difference and why there's so much ingenuity here
Susmita and PabitraSusmita and Pabitra
Susmita and Pabitra

Notice my captive notebook in the back. I had to journal around many surprise drawings which appeared in it.
DevendraDevendra
Devendra

Couldn't get pictures so I played 1,2,3 snap a picture
Evening WalkEvening Walk
Evening Walk

They took us for a walk before dinner sometimes. So nice
Jumping rocksJumping rocks
Jumping rocks

Omega I have no doubt could skip rocks across that entire pond.
Strike a poseStrike a pose
Strike a pose

The oldest guy in this picture actually grew up in the home and has been hired by the home/church. very quiet guy


Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0622s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb