We arrive in Nepal


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Bhaktapur
October 19th 2008
Published: November 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

October 19, 2008 Sunday 1:10 p.m. Bhaktapur, Nepal


We finally got plane at about 6 p.m. Our luggage made it fine. We were met at the airport by Shree from ITrekNepal and were driven to Bhaktapur Guest House, in Bhaktapur, NOT Kathmandu. We were given dinner on the plane, although we had also been given a free lunch at the airport because of the delay of our plane. We had a beer with Shree and Elizabeth (a writer researching Everest climbs and who left this morning for a 29 day trek to Everest Base Camp). She is traveling by herself and camping. I was awakened at 5 a.m. for a 5:30 a.m. yoga class in the town of Bhaktapur. I went with a couple from the UK (Andy and his wife - who had just returned from a 6 day trek). Yoga class was very cool, about 1-200 people in a large semi-open hall. We were outside on mats on a large tarp. Several young people talked us through the asana, then a lot of prana, and chanting totally about 1 ¾ hours. We were driven back to the guest house for Breakfast, followed by a 2 hour “jungle hike” through the outskirts of Bhaktapur.

I’m not feeling too well: headachy, jet-lagged and maybe feeling the effect of the beer I had last night, so I’m resting for a while before we go on a sightseeing tour of “old Bhaktapur” squares, temples and palaces. Tomorrow we are off to Pokhara. We need to buy a poncho for Bruce and I’d like to get a skirt. I’m feeling quite nervous when I’m not actually doing something specific.

The sightseeing guide - Biju - was very nice and very knowledgeable. He showed us the 5 main squares, each with a different temple or square. We saw the pottery area and the place where bodies are cremated. I have a brochure - I hope Bruce took good pictures because I didn’t take my camera.


Advertisement



27th October 2010

sounds fun

Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0199s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb