Mongolian Language


Advertisement
Mongolia's flag
Asia » Mongolia » Ulaanbaatar
August 1st 2008
Published: August 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Can Anybody speak or read Mongolian language? Have u ever thought whether they will be any problem if you have reached a country where u can’t communicate?



Frankly speaking…i never thought that would be a problem as I have been to Italy and Spain as a tourist. I don’t see any big problem with it as they can speak little English. I still remember once i was in Italy and i was trying to ask for the train fare to another city but the ticket seller can’t understand me. I just use an international sign for money - (showing and rubbing my thumb and pointer) - Immediately he get it.

How do i survive here? Most Mongolian can’t speak English or very little English. The are some younger generation who can speak good English and most of them may have studied in foreign country. However, I do find it difficult to communicate here without a translator in the beginning. I was trying to order some room service but yet my food doesn’t come. I still remember i was trying to tell them something and i have to do some actions, draw pictures, body language and it tooks me 3 days for me to lodge the complain to the hotel staff.

I guess if i am a tourist, it may not be too much of problems but since i will be staying here for a year. It’s kind of frustrating in the beginning. I then decided to pick up some language. However, communication is important to create better understanding. Thus, there’s a lot of time spent for me to communicate to get things done. At times, i feel that i am handicapped - can’t do anything i want because i can’t communicate. Besides that, confusion and misunderstanding may also arise. However, I realised one thing - Human is someone who will find their ways to survive no matter how or wherever they live. Thus, i learn to communicate using body language, sign, pictures and drawings to convey message. I will use whatever resources i have. For eg. i will ask the seller to press the calculator or my handphone to get the price of the goods. Of course, u may get slaugther for the price that u pay since they know u are a foreigner. As times goes by, i know the market price. thus, it will not be a problem anymore. U just got to be patient and pay the price to experience it.

Some of the basic Mongolian language:

Hello - Sain Baina uu (San benoo)

Goodbye - Bayartai (baireitey)

Yes - tiim (Tim) or Dza (ZA)

No - Ugui

Thank you - Bayarlalaa (Bailah)

Right - Baruun (Barong)

Left - Zuun (Zhong)

Sorry - Uurchlaarai (Oochlarei)

Is there anyone out there who have some interesting stories on going/living in a place where u can’t communicate?

Do anyone have good advice on how to survive in a country where u can’t communicate?

Do anyone know what will be the best way to learn Mongolian language?

Find out more in my personal travel blog : http://econaturetravel.com/cultural-village-farming-tour-homestay/mongolian-language/


Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0425s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb