Back to UB


Advertisement
Mongolia's flag
Asia » Mongolia » Terelj
April 10th 2008
Published: April 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

After a fairly restless nights sleep (nothing new there then) it was time for a quick breakfast and a last walk around (much warmer than yesterday) and then to be picked up to be taken back to UB. Virtually the whole host family came outside to say goodbye or shake my hand, very nice touch even though I said no more than 50 words to them, made me like the people even more and made me wish I made more of an effort to talk to them.

Back in the hostel I managed to get a single room in the same hostel for 10 dollars a night and sort my stuff out. I wanted to have a couple of hours sleep but the majority of the hostel wanted to watch American Gangster at full blast on the TV so that didn't happen, probably a good thing I need to get out of this sleep during the day thing.

After the film had finished I asked if anybody in the hostel fancied a beer there were a few takers so I decided to go to the pub and update my blog accompanied by by a few beers. I got back to the hostel and people where watching 28 Months Later, I had a chat with a few of them and it was one of the girls birthdays so we headed out to the pub where I had been earlier and had some more drinks. Most of the people where Brits so after being starved of English speakers so far I was now inundated with them, typical. They were all the usual backpacker types, some going to Beijing, some going to Moscow (although they had major troubles as you can't get a russian tourist visa outside you home country - new rule apparently). There was a pair of 18 year olds, quite gutsy I thought but they were arseholes. A guy who was quite proud of the fact that he had only three showers in the past 4 weeks and various other odds and sods, most of them are going on a 5 day desert tour together tomorrow. Afterwards I went to a 24hr restaurant and got some takeout which was really nice. I also saw what must of been UB's only prostitute as there was no others around and there were two cars lined up to talk to her.

Most of the backpackers that I get on with more seem to be on there own, maybe because it's more independent to go on your own or maybe it's because they are so desperate to talk to someone they have to be a bit nicer.

My ipod seems to have sorted itself out, the battery has gone dead since yesterday and once I started charging it up it started to work again. As soon as I get to Beijing I'll get a usb/pcmcia wifi and that should sort out my laptop.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0636s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb