Back to cycling... not!


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia
October 3rd 2013
Published: June 21st 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 5.45768, 100.293

Although I love Langkawi it was time to move on and get cycling again, Danny was heading to Thailand anyway and I was extremely grateful to him changing his trip down to Kuala Lumpur to make sure I arrived in Penang okay. My last trip to Penang was the worst ferry crossing I had ever experienced and I wasn't looking forward to it but with his support and some gentler weather I was relieved when I arrived safe and sound. I booked back into Rainbow2 before walking down with Danny to book his overnight bus and I have to admit I'm sad to see him go, we've become great friends and he is lovely company, but all good things and all that and we say our farewells for now, maybe we'll meet again.

I spent the next day getting my bike and gear back into shape for leaving but unfortunately that night my hotel room was completely flooded by horrendous rains and a blocked drainage system which left all my belongings swimming... I mean everything, all my electric stuff was destroyed including my computer, all my clothes, toiletries, make up, shoes etc all swimming... oh joy! 'Smilie' from the Hostel, clears and cleans and helps me with all my belongings and it takes several hours to lay everything out to dry, put all clothes into washing and we're up until 3am working away. It's only me that's affected as other guests are upstairs... typical!

I end up taking computer to Komtar the following day to see if they can fix it but they're going to need a number of days and although I initially hang around, after 4 days they said maybe another week as they were going to change the motherboard, at this point I decided to return to Langkawi as Robert is still there and I really don't like Penang, it's just a city and I'm missing my beach and my boys!

Instead of taking the ferry back to Langkawi I decide to head to Kuala Polis by bus and just take the shortest crossing which was much better for me, and before I know it I'm back home... I really do love Langkawi. Everyone is surprised and delighted to see me and I'm glad I returned. I meet up with Robert, have a beer or two in Rafii's, meet up with Alang, Lesley, Tim, Nicki, Gie and the girls, Dollar, Kyl, George, Billy, Capt Jack and many more... it's great here.

I get back into my routine of beach bum, the odd swim and meeting up with the crew for a beer to watch the sunset. Taking the girls swimming and generally having a good time. Robert and I head for our half price cocktails at the Brasserie most days too and get chatting to Danny online, Robert is planning to meet his other half in Bangkok and travel to Koh Chang where Danny is and it sets the cogs in motion... I suggest a wee visit and I'm delighted that Danny quite likes the idea of me heading to meet him, so after a week in Langkawi I jump a bus to Bangkok and onwards to Koh Chang.

Well 'life's too short' as they say, 'you only live once'!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.235s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0428s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb