Where to begin?.....


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Wilayah Persekutuan » Kuala Lumpur
June 11th 2013
Published: June 12th 2013
Edit Blog Post

So I really don't know where to begin with this blog and it's been such a long time since I wrote on here. I must apologise that I have not read my last blog so this may not directly follow on or I may even be repeating myself.

The anticipated visa application did not go as planned, but isn't that always the way in life. Anyhow, things turned out just fine. I am settled comfortably in a job with the Embassy, 4.5days a week; we are no longer, or I should say 'I' am no longer living life as a 'wanderer' the days of 'backpacking are a distant memory right now. Reflections on this later...

Anyway, so as I was saying, out of the guesthouses and into our own home. A 3 bed, 2 bath apartment, actually 'Condo' as they are called here. Set in grounds with a swimming pool, gym and security guards. We are residing in a more residential (albeit highly populated with Chinese) area of the city, a little way out from the tourist spots but on the main bus/LRT routes.

It takes me around an hour each way into work but the location of the condo is quiet so I am not complaining.

It took a few weekends here to get properly settled with furniture, TV, WiFi etc but we are all 'up and running' now.

The Malaysian way of life is still as laid back as ever and for a Brit still rather frustrating, nevertheless this is what 'adjustment' is for. I think it's the lifestyle I yearned for back in the UK. My days of stress are a distant memory and I am sure that my parents in particular reading this will feel a moment of relief in knowing that, although I know and must apologise to all for the 'Shocks' I have given you over the last year+, and there have been many of them. Thank you for all being so supportive even if it has been a lot to get your head around. A note for my sister; and I hope you are reading this. Please rest assured that however many thousand miles away I am from you now or in the future, you are my sister, that will never change. I love you and will always be a part of your present and future. And to my amazing, truly supportive parents, thank you does not accumulate enough words to express the gratitude I feel for your ongoing love and support, as always. I love you dearly. Then to my two Nanna's, again I love you both and thousands of miles apart or not you are always in my heart and thoughts.

OK so the soppy stuff aside...I am no longer a tourist here in KL, I am a residential British national living overseas, making the most of this amazing life I have been blessed with. I am a happily married woman, settled in a stable job with a nice little home in an amazing city that most would be envious of.

I will update more when I have more news for now it's more about settling into life here.

The weather has been nice, we have entered the rainy season so a fair amount of rain but still no cooler. So the pool has been a blessing.

Photos to follow.

Love to all xx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0664s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb