Killing Time in Kuala Lumpur


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Wilayah Persekutuan » Kuala Lumpur
July 17th 2006
Published: July 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

4:30am is not a great time to arive in KL, as there is bugger all to do until about 10:30 when all the shops and tourist stuff opens. It was 29 degrees and 92% humidity when we touched down at 4:30am!

I have taken in the sight of Kuala Lumpur (Yes, that is intentionally the singular). It should be more widely advertised that the Petronas Towers are closed every Monday! Instead, I went up the Menara Tower, which is like a smaller version of Centre Point Tower in Sydney. It has a viewing deck with the full 360 degree view of the city, so I got some happy snaps of KL.

Feeling adventurous, I tried some local quisine for lunch in a tiny Chinese restaurant in a back alley, which turned out to be quite nice. Restaurant selection was based on the old theory that a restaurant with lots of locals is probably ok. This one was packed, and proved the theory to be sound. A thai salad and butter-prawns were pretty good.

I have spent the rest of my afternoon indulging in a foot/legs and shoulders massage, and window shopping for any cool gagets that we may not have in Australia yet. Unfortunately I havent found any technological gems as yet, and any warranties on electrical goods are only valid in Malaysia anyway. There are a million more tech shops left, but you can only see the same phones, laptops, ipods and pdas so many times.

I visited Asia's largest mall this morning, which makes the large Westfields in Sydney look like Dapto Mall. The damn thing is 2 miles long, and 6 floors of shops! I struggle to think of a single retail brand that didn't have a store there. Even kung fu flick actor Jackie Chan has a store there!

I have a few photos that I will upload, hopefully when I am in Holland.

I'm off to keep exploring, so Jumpa lagi (see you later).


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Imbi MallImbi Mall
Imbi Mall

7 floors of nothing but electronics stores. Mobile phones, laptops, computers, cameras, and every vendor trying to undersell the other 100 that sell the exact same thing.
Starhill GalleryStarhill Gallery
Starhill Gallery

This bar serves alcohol as expected, but for the large percentage of the country that are muslim and can't drink alcohol, it serves bongs of hash.


Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0458s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb