Cautious Paranoia


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Wilayah Persekutuan » Kuala Lumpur
May 28th 2006
Published: May 30th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I awoke late, which I blame partly on beer and partly on the fact that my room has no windows and therefore is pitch black without the light on 24 hours a day. I spent the day again wandering around KL, this time heading out west where the Bird Park, Gardens, National monument and so on Lie.

Scam?
As I was walking back to the hotel I was approached by a young (25yr old?) Malaysian woman who started chatting to me "where are you from, how long you here" etc. She asked me if I wanted to have a drink with her, so I decided not to be overly paranoid and went. I asked for a can so I could make sure it wasn't drugged. I was sure I was being set up for a scam, but I couldnt see where. "I want very much to travel to england to work, but my mother, she won't let me". "That's a shame, why not?". "I don't know... perhaps you come to my house and you tell her england is ok to travel...". And so I made my excuses and left, still unsure of the scam but convinced that going to any random strangers house was a bad move. It turns out that the scam is this: Pretty girls get random westerners to go to a house, where a game of cards is in progress. The person joins the game and seems to win, before suddenly they begin to lose. How can anyone fall for such a scam? I don't know but I have since spoken to a couple who met two people scammed in this way, one of whom lost about 2000 pounds. Another friend did it and got dinner and a pretty girl (but thats Hugh for you). Scary Stuff!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.182s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 17; qc: 90; dbt: 0.1188s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb