Kuala Lumper - not a clever title


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Wilayah Persekutuan » Kuala Lumpur
February 17th 2009
Published: February 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So I just wanted to quickly backtrack and cover my day in KL so I don't get too far behind (even though you should know that Internet at this place is like US$5/hour which is absolutely outrageous!

I spent the night at the Red Dragon, which is a hostel that in a previous life was a movie theatre. I successfully slept through my alarm the next morning after I cleverly hid my alarm clock in the padlocked drawer next to my bed. I decided to spend the morning visiting the Petronas Towers which are the unique landmark of the city and I had no trouble folowing the receptionist's directions to the metro station, and no problems even using the metro station, the problems began when I tried to find the massive towers after I reached my metro stop. There was no sign, so I just kept walking straight out of the station and found myself in a giant shopping mall (the first thing you smelled when you walked in was PURE baked butter, more powerful and delicious than anything I have ever smelled). And I wander through the mall for a while and I'm looking out the doors and I don't see anything that looks like the petronas towers anywhere! I give up and walk outside, look up, and yup, I had been wandering around in the basement of the towers for about half an hour at that point. I made my way back inside and found the ticket counter to the skybridge (nice view of KL from there allegedly) but at that point they were giving out tickets that were scheduled too late for me to use them so I left. I spent the next hour or so wandering through the park next to the towers which was incredibly beautiful and cooling and peaceful. I made my way back on the metro (which is entirely automated as far as I could tell - no driver!), and spent some time in the Chinatown markets, but how anyone makes a living when everyone is selling the same things is a mystery to me. I did my part to support a couple of the vendors since once I started buying things I found I couldn't stop myself.

That was really it for my day in KL, I managed to use the metro again to take me to the KLIA express train (very luxurious) and was able to see some of the surrounding countryside on the way to the airport, lots of palm tree fields basically.

The rest of the day belongs in the Singapore post but I have a feeling that one won't be published until I make it to Thailand tomorrow.

Advertisement



17th February 2009

KL sounds awesome- what's been your fave so far?
17th February 2009

When you find yourself completely weighed down by all the stuff you buy, just set yourself up as a vendor and spend a day selling it all back to the locals.
18th February 2009

I'm not sure I really have a "favorite place" since they are all so different but if I had to choose I would say the Perhentian Islands were incredible, and everyone is so nice and the island is so small that it's just like a little community.

Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.052s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb