Bye Bye Malaysia


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Wilayah Persekutuan » Kuala Lumpur
June 15th 2008
Published: June 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Kuala LumpurKuala LumpurKuala Lumpur

Thats me bright eyed and ready for action in KL
I have been in Malaysia for nearly a month and have loved it. The country is so varied and on so many levels.

I have travelled down from the National Park Tama Negra which is in the centre of Malaysia. The park is easily accessible by train and bus. With most journeys stopping off in Jerantut. From here I took a 3 hour boat ride up to the National Park, the same journey can be made back but takes 2hrs down stream. This was great you see so much unspoilt landscape with a couple of local fishing boats and small huts along the river front. The rest of the river is surrounding by forest. The National Park runs a variety of trips within the park the most popular being the canopy walk which takes you through the tree line. I decided to go on a tour through the park but I would have been just as good to go on my own. This was a day tour and only for 4 hours. For longer treks and cave journey a guide would have been useful but if you’re taking a short trek do it yourself, there are plenty of signposts and
Kuala LumpurKuala LumpurKuala Lumpur

Nite out
the paths are very clear and easy to follow. The views within the park are stunning we hiked up a large hill and you see so much variety of trees and plants and if your lucky some wildlife.

I then returned from my mini adventures to the yellow house guest house which is 10RM or just under 2 pounds cheapest dorm room available bar none. This little place was excellent staff were friendly and the owner provided free tea and great insights to the park. On leaving the park I returned to Jerrantut and took a night train to Kuala Lumpur. I slept in the second class seats but this is very busy and the lights are not turned off so if you need your sleep pay the 35RM instead of saving 25rm for a proper bed. I arrived in KL at 9.30am and was helped to my next train station by a local. I found everyone in KL helpful if at anytime I looked at a map someone would come over and offer help. The locals also come over and chat to you in the street. In one case the middle of the road, someone started to talk
Kuala Lumpur - Petronas Twin Towers Kuala Lumpur - Petronas Twin Towers Kuala Lumpur - Petronas Twin Towers

World's tallest buildings, before being surpassed by the Taipei 101. However, the towers are still the tallest twin buildings in the world
to me which was a little worrying with the randomness of Asian drivers but after about 3 mins I finally managed to get back to the path.

In KL I was lucky to stay with Syul who I met through couch surfing. This enabled me to have free accommodation and also a local guide of sorts. It was like having a friend in a foreign city. The night life in KL is great and well worth checking out have a look around KLCC (near the Petronas Towers the world's tallest twin buildings). However drinking in KL is very expensive it is worth while either buying a bottle of your chosen drink which sometime equals free club entry. Alternatively befriend a local businessman who is drunk and get free drinks that way no guesses what I did.

There is plenty too see during the day and the LRT and local monorail are a great and easy way to get round. The city is full of Character and very modern, although lacking in historical interest there are plenty of sights of interest. Well worth a visit don't be afraid to walk around but be warned it's hot.

Off to
Kuala LumpurKuala LumpurKuala Lumpur

My neck hurts
Singapore which is a 5 hours journey going at night again to save accommodation. This cost 30RM or just under 5 pounds.

I'm going to leave my Lonely planet in Singapore hopefully will be able to trade it for a good book already managed to find Lord of the Rings what a good read thank you JR Tolkien.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0321s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb