Free internet update from Malaysia


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Kelantan » Kota Bharu
June 6th 2008
Published: June 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Firstly anyone who reads this I am dedicating this one to my brother as it's his birthday today (6th June) and I am upset because I am not there. I am also upset that I can not leave Kota Bharu as it is a national holiday and all the trains and buses are booked. So I wish I had stayed on my beach island for one more day. I travelled across the top of Malaysia from Butterworth on the west to Kota Bharu on the east and from there I went to Kuala Besut which is the gateway to PULAU PERHENTIAN ISLANDS. I stayed on an island called Cecil on a place called long beach which got its name because it is the longest beach on the island not because it's a long beach. The island is situated next to crystal clear water which is great for snorkelling and even better for diving. I went to some amazing sights where the visibility was up to 15 metres. Diving on an amazing wreck called ‘sugar wreck’ and also wishing I had stayed to dive the 'Temple of the Sea' (Tokong Laut) as there were more fish than you can shake a fishing
MalaysiaMalaysiaMalaysia

Taman Negara National Park
rod at (you can not as it's a national park). The food on the island was amazing some of the best I have had so far. I stayed at a place called Mohshin, in the dorm and met some really fun people. Especially Nathan who worked at the chalet really cool guy and good to hang round with cheers mate. The beach is really beautiful with soft sand and no stones the weather was spot on and the beach wasn't too crowded, the perfect place to relax. Don't be surprised if you stay longer than you first expect as most people fall in love with the island. Drink is quite dear unless you drink Monkey Juice a local rum/ whisky thing that does the job.

From Cecil I got the boat back to the mainland and shared a cab to Kota Bharu from Kuala Besut which cost 50RMB between 3 people for an hour and half journey, the bus was ten so it was worth getting the cab.

I am stuck in Kota Bharu as I said earlier it's a national holiday, so trains and buses are full. I leave here in two days for the National Park
MalaysiaMalaysiaMalaysia

Established in Malaysia in 1938/1939 as the King George V National Park. Renamed the Taman Negara after independence
called Taman Negara. I will get the Jungle train to Jerantut which cost 17RMB for the cheap seat. From here to Kuala Lumpur.

If I get free net again I will give another update if not who knows when it will come.



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0545s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb