Malaysia


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Penang » George Town
May 27th 2008
Published: May 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

MalaysiaMalaysiaMalaysia

June 2008
I left Thailand for Malaysia arriving on Monday 26th May, took the ferry from Ko Samui to Surranthani which is a lovely city but only spent a day there so have limited experience there. I arranged a air conditioned bus to take me to Kota Bharu on the east side but the tour guide gave some rubbish about a problem at the border so I had to cross at another border but this would be 25 pounds more I refused to pay this and ended up paying 2 pound extra for a different ticket still crazy. I got shipped from one bus to another as well as others and ended up in Butterworth on the west coast. Wrong side I know. Asked about the next bus and told not till tomorrow so I decided to delay my bus for 3 days to see Penang and Georgetown and so glad I did Georgetown is a really interesting place with a good night life and all the locals speak good English as it used to be a British colony found out loads about Francis Light and how he really set in place a port and setup trade routes with the Indian Trading Company. There are apparently beaches on the other side so will explore them in good time. Glad of the diversion plus I got free internet at my hotel so could catch up on blog and various emails and do some more research. I am going to try and stick to public transport which is a lot cheaper but I am yet too see if better but fingers crossed. Weather is lovely by the way result!


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0188s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb