Poisonous Coral


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Wilayah Persekutuan » Kuala Lumpur
February 25th 2008
Published: February 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Ton Sai - Low TideTon Sai - Low TideTon Sai - Low Tide

Beauty and danger seem to make great lovers
I had no idea that three small choral scratches i got while snorkelling in Thailand would have such a massive impact on my body...I wish i would have read this passage from the health board in Phuket...

"If you inadvertently scratch yourself on coral, the wound will probably prove more severe than it looks. This is because coral has a poison that aggravates the wound, and not infrequently little pieces of coral break off and cause further infection. Treat any coral wound, however small, as a serious matter."

Three months ago i did get minor little scratches and of course i figured they would heal like every other scratch i've ever gotten. Not so. And i kick myself for not investigating deeper and earlier into what these strange wounds were. Because suddenly a intense fever hit on saturday night, i was sweating and shivering with a fever of 104 for two nights and days. And the worst is that the infection on my left foot got into my bloodstream moved up my thigh and was making speedy journey towards my heart!

When i saw the red streaks in my thigh i knew it was time to go straight to the hospital around the corner from where I live in Malaysia.

The Indian doctor knew exactly what it was and got straight to the point. Five days of Antibiotic injections. He said he sees this a lot from European travellers coming to Malaysia from Thailand. He said he's seen worse. that is scary because i could feel mine moving up to break my heart. What could be worse...coming in three days to late? scary....

I paid about USD $170 for five days worth of Switzerland Antibiotic injections and the treatment of my wounds. Now i will miss my three month visa deadline for leaving malaysia. I was all prepared to take the bus to visit my friend in Singapore for four days. She had a house for me and everything. So i got a letter from the doctor and hopefully the immigration officer will let me through with no hassle.

I've been coming and coming to Malsaysia for 14 months already and havent had a problem. EVery three months go to Singapore, Indonesia, Thailand or??
Sometimes i get a bit paranoid that they wont let me back in...but everytime its a cute little Malay girl at the counter who says, "HELLO Mr. Peter! Welcome to Malaysia" and then stamps my passport with a new three month visitors pass.

"Malaysia...Truly Asia"

I may have to test their hospitality but at least I still have my Heart.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0489s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb