Meant to be....


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Wilayah Persekutuan » Kuala Lumpur
May 27th 2007
Published: January 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

My love for travel begins from here with the first destination, Kuala Lumpur. They say, "God has his own plans and whatever happens, happens for the best". Without a doubt I now believe that! Why do I say that? My trip to KL was planned only for 2 days and then fly off to New Zealand for 12 days. However, thanks to the New Zealand consulate who forgot to process my papers and on the last day of me flying out refused to grant me the visa. I was furious to the core and helpless as I could do nothing the last minute. Changing tickets, my plans, schedules all in the last minute had been a night mare. I had no clue what I am going to do in KL for 14 days! I was absolutely clueless and helplessly surrendered myself to God's Own Will! And I am glad I did that.

I guess it was just meant to be, from the time I stepped in the flight to the time I have left the place... the journey still brings in lot of smiles and memories that I would love to live again! My first contact was the Chief engineer of Malaysian Airlines, whom I met on the flight. He was the one who showed me the ways to get around the city and was my only hope whom I kept calling on several occasions when I got stuck in my plans. He was absolutely right when he said, "Malaysian's are very friendly and helpful people!" They are indeed. Warm and friendly bunch of people. You can come to the city without a plan and for sure each Malaysian will help you chart your each day itinerary.

The Malaysian airport is huge and extremely well developed. The best way to come to the city centre from this huge Airport is through the metro, it is the fastest, cheapest and the easiest way! You can buy a return ticket from the airport which has a validity for a month (now that is cool!!), no need of standing in huge lines on your return. I was impressed at its very first sight and impressive city centre metro so clean and so well kept. In my mind, I thanked the government for taking care of its tourists and not just taking them for granted.

Without knowing much, I had booked myself in a place which apart from being away from the city was not considered very safe for a single girl travelling alone. Thanks to the taxi drivers, tour operators who kept insisting that I should find myself a better place. Infact, after returning from my first day tour, the taxi driver was very keen on helping me and told me, "M'aam we should find you a good hotel, this is not good" and he drove me around in the centre of the city to find me a decent and a budget accommodation in the place called BB walk, a bustling place with shopping malls, eating outlets, coffee shops, spa centres, travel agents and everything you might think of was a minute away from my hotel. I had my gratitude for that taxi driver who got me here.

On the way and throughout my tour I kept meeting lots of wonderful people starting from the Morroccan couple, Andre and Corrinn. We were together to Petronas twin towers, Batu Caves, KLCC, mills and museums, etc., They are the sweetest couple I ever met. Sadly they left before me leaving me behind to meet some more lovely people.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.038s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb