The road to Kuala Lumpur


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Wilayah Persekutuan » Kuala Lumpur
June 9th 2007
Published: June 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The minibusThe minibusThe minibus

It's hard to capture the atmosphere without the local music...
After saying goodbye to everyone else staying in Krabi, I boarded my minibus that would take me to Kuala Lumpur.

The bus journey was 14 hours (15 with the time change) so I spend most of my day reading and trying to sleep. I was on a minibus with locals all the way to the border and the driver found it quite hard to communicate with me. They put on some Thai or Malay music for part of the journey and the whole experience was quite surreal. I hoped nothing would go wrong on the journey, I was very careful to make sure I wasn't left behind at any food stops! It was strange travelling on my own again for the first time in over a month.

After lunch I changed onto a large coach that took me all the way through the border crossing and into Malaysia. We stopped in plenty of random food places where I didn't recognise most of the food on offer. At one stop I decided to ask for what the man in front of me had chosen, because I wanted to play it safe. However, what I got was horrible anyway (And I'm still not sure what it was).

On arrival in KL I was shocked to be dropped and have no touts approach me to sell me accommodation. Instead, I walked around looking for an internet cafe to locate somewhere on the internet. As it turned out, I stumbled upon a internet cafe and hostel within about 20m of the coach stop.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 66; dbt: 0.0621s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb