greetings from intrepid!


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Wilayah Persekutuan » Kuala Lumpur
June 28th 2007
Published: June 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

hi guys, thought i should update the blog a bit, since its been....4 countries since i last wrote in it! so anyway, japan was awesome! tokyo is now my second favourite city (behind london, and just ahead of venice!) kyoto isnt even top 10. it was nice and all, but me and the city got off on the wrong foot. in part due to a hostel owner who sadistically took pleasure in making me think that id have to sleep in a park, in the rain, with 1000 yen in my pocket on my first night there. little witch.
went to nara, (former capital before kyoto) and that was nice, all old temples and castles and lots of deer!! but lots of walking. Then journeyed onto Hiroshima, which was really something. I always knew it would be with that history but seeing it there, and the museum was really powerful on me. slightly ruined by a fat american man who was really interested (and constantly vocal) in how big the bomb was, and how much damage it did, how powerful it was etc. while standing next to a model of children with their skin melting off of their bodies. but
Me on my bike in KyotoMe on my bike in KyotoMe on my bike in Kyoto

feel the wind in your hair!
the city was amazing really, with regard to how its been reconstructed and the resilience of the japanese people. also went to an island called mirajima which is in the top 3 photographed places in japan due to the entrance being out at sea. it was great seeing the japanese tourists get in such a panic to photograph it!
so then moved onto oz for three days which was really good because i saw my friends ben and jenna. but not so good because the expected hot sun, bikini'd women and beaches were not there. it was the worst weather sydney had seen for 17 years!!! typical- rain and wind, just like home! But went on a driven tour, with bens family friends, and the phrase "oh, its normally so pretty!" became repeated far too often!

Then flew onto bali, which was really nice. I travelled about there for 6 days, went to Sanur (like a beach), ubud (the cultural centre) and Kuta (surfing beach!). i saw a traditional fire dance in ubud which was amazing (but got the "bali belly" after the show. not so amazing) and went surfing with Tom (a dutch guy, living in australia who I met on the bus to Kuta)- with the pictures to prove it!

Then flew onto singapore to start my tour. This is a 2 week trek from Singapore, up through Malaysia onto Thailand with 11 other people. The people on the trip are really cool- theres 3 couples; Tod and juliet who are students, Darrell and Rachel and Rob and Jackie who are Kiwis. Theres also kelly, an Australian teacher; MaryAnn an Irish librarian; Kirsten a New York chef and Tamara a flemmish/dutch air hostess. As well as Vic, our kiwi leader! Everyone is really nice, and gets on really well which is handy! So far we've seen Singapore (albeit briefly) and malaka in malaysia, and am just about to leave Kuala lumpur for a homestay on a lake. This tour is sooo tiring, mainly becuase we're doing so much stuff every day which is good becuase we see it all, but bad because its so tiring!

Well thats about enough for now I shall try and be more proficient in my updates in future! enjoy the pictures- I'll take lots more, I promise!

Miss you all xxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

some japanese bandsome japanese band
some japanese band

who we saw in a 5th floor bar! we were 1/5 of the audience!
buddhabuddha
buddha

look how big it is! (it was in Nara)
mirajimamirajima
mirajima

the famous entrance
bondi beach!bondi beach!
bondi beach!

again, windy.
jenga in malaka!jenga in malaka!
jenga in malaka!

with darrell and kirsten. I lost :(
me and my rickshaw driver!me and my rickshaw driver!
me and my rickshaw driver!

I wish i wasnt so bad at remembering names...
the most ridiculous thing i have ever seen.the most ridiculous thing i have ever seen.
the most ridiculous thing i have ever seen.

a rollercoaster in a shopping mall?!


Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0182s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb