My First Week over!


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Mt Fuji
June 8th 2007
Published: June 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hi everyone! Most likely I have contacted you all in some way by now, but its the end of my first week! I have been to Tokyo (4 nights), Nikko (1 night), Fuji (2 nights)

Well, I'm pretty tired now to be honest- I've done something every day, and it normally involves a LOT of walking, and shows that not doing any exercise for a year really doesnt do wonders for your health.

Tokyo was awesome! Really clean and stupidly safe! Its like lots of huge shopping districts all melded together into one giant mass of a city. I saw lots of temples and shrines, including 2 japanese weddings! They are quite odd...I tried the Sushi and it was either really nice or pretty disgusting (I know now I don't like raw squid...) and went to an Onsen which was really cool. Saw loads of tokyo, from the youthful Harijuka to the bay area. It was soo busy all the time though! Met lots of nice people too, and shared a room with 2 Swedes Olaf and Viking they were really nice. Went out for drinks with 2 Canadians!

Nikko was nice too, set up in the mountains there were lots of shrines (most of which are world heritage sites!) including the "hear no evil, speak no evil, hear no evil" monkeys. They were a bit over hyped though....and 3 huge gold statues of Buddha and 2 other deities. You werent allowed to take photos at most of the really interesting sites though which was a shame. I met an Australian called Craig there and will hopefully spend some time with him in Kyoto (my next stop).

Fuji was really nice too- the hostel was amazing!! really nice and quite cheap. Climbed the mountain yesterday with a Frenchman called Adrian, and an Australian called Jerrad. Jerrad was an idiot, but Adrian was really nice. shattered now, after the climb however!! I am moving onto Kyoto next- 4 hours by train, yay!

i shall try and keep this updated as often as possible, but I dont know where or when I can get internet access. Miss you all terribly

all my love xx



Additional photos below
Photos: 39, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

one for alex and dom!one for alex and dom!
one for alex and dom!

lol this was at a shrine, where you pay to leave a message on a bit of wood. Most of them are like "Safety for my family and peace on earth" then there was this...
A really gothy band...A really gothy band...
A really gothy band...

check out their dad on lead!
A really cool band!!A really cool band!!
A really cool band!!

check out the drummer!!
50s rockers50s rockers
50s rockers

haha! these people were so funny! all 40+ all in leathers, dancing to 50's american rock and roll, and loving it!!


8th June 2007

nice picz! crazy japz!
10th June 2007

"and shared a room with 2 Swedes Olaf and Viking " that is class! keep updating photos etc!

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0419s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb