A different kind of island....


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Sarawak » Kuching
June 11th 2006
Published: June 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I'm across the sea from peninsular Malaysia on Borneo! It's not like the other islands I've been catching some rays on. It's huge and it's rainforest. This is the closest to the Equator I've ever been....it's pretty freakin hot. I guess when I'm in Indonesia I'll be in the southern hemisphere for the first time. I'll definatley be watching which way the toilet flushes.
Borneo is a nice place with lots of national parks and cool animals to see. It's famous for having tons orangutans so I'll probably go see some of those bastards. But they also have a lot of oil and timber and I haven't seen that side of things yet. The food is amazing. ***Lindsay and Emily remember me saying I didn't like Indian food? I was wrong!
I love Indian food. I don't think I can live in a place without an Indian restaraunt. I'm addicited. But my farts tell that tale. I'm hoping my guts will just get used to the spicy curry....in a hurry! I'm still hanging out with the Nova Scotian gal Rhiannon and I think we're gonna be hanging out for a while and heading to Indonesia in a couple weeks maybe. Speaking of Nova Scotia, I went to a Scotiabank the other day in Kuala Lumpur! Why they have a bank there is anybody's guess.
Now I have to talk about something that no Canadians talk about. It's simply too boring: The game of soccer (or as the rest of the world calls it: FOOTBALL). The world cup is going on right now and it's torture. We agreed to go to a pub with some English girls last night to watch the England vs PARAGUAY (I changed this from Portugal, which was my mistake. And I took alot of flack for it) game and man I wonder what everyone sees in this game. There's simply no presence of pressure and excitement. For instance in hockey generally the puck moves up the ice and there's always pressure from the offence on the defence. There could be a goal scored or a big save or big hit at almost any time...not much idle time where nothing's going on. Not so in football. They pass the ball back to the goalkeeper, boot it out of bounds pass it around like it's practise time, or take a wussy dive to try and draw a penalty. I can't believe how many of these "men" were rolling around on the ground wincing in pain during the course of the game. It's pathetic on the slo-mo replays. A guy gets a little elbow to the shoulder or trips over someones leg and hits the ground screaming in pain. It was kinda hilarious. The exciting score was 1-0 for England.
So it's final. That's the first and last soccer game I ever watch. Now I have a reason why I don't watch it. But enough about that. I feel better now...until the harsh comments from my English friends start rolling in.
Tomorrow I'm going to check out some orangutans, museums, and hopefully some hot chicks (it's a one-way appreciation).

Advertisement



11th June 2006

Football alias Soccer
All your English friends are going to massacre you with those comments! A Scotia Bank in Kuala Lumpur - that's hilarious. I'll be sure to to tell the girls at the bank. I sent you all those addresses - where are all the postcards?? Can't wait to see the Poi when you get home! Luv Mom
12th June 2006

You would
I knew you'd come around, now I don't feel so bad for dragging you to all those indian places!!!!!
12th June 2006

OMG....sort it out!
Scottie!! I'm not impressed! The match wasn't the most exciting.....however, it was the 1st england in the world cup and so was essential viewing. Also it was England vs. PARAGUAY!!!!!!!! I watched it with 1000's of others in a huge park in Cambridge, whilst eating icecream, drinking beer and catching the sun :) Gems x
12th June 2006

Shiza
It warms my nana heart to hear about your love of Indian food, even more than the curry induced heart burn I get from eating it myself. I dont even want to think about how many squatters you've defiled because of it.
13th June 2006

england v who
it was paraguay which does begin with a "p" !! still i agree, it was awful we are really envious of your xiahe blog - we tripped up in the monastery and had to return home as damaged goods - see www.travelpod.com/members/easties good luck with the rest of your tour regards
13th June 2006

Just because the Canadians will never be good enough to make it into the world cup!
16th June 2006

Glad to hear your having fun everyone at work sure likes hearing from you . Even the truckers ask about you everytime there in. Well keep the pictures coming and remember you promised me more chick pics.

Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0374s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb