Philippines Relief Work


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Sarawak » Kuching
December 15th 2006
Published: August 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Ok, THIS is the shortest email blast yet!! I haven't even thought of what I want to say, but first off wanted to say I am truely sorry for not writing sooner (except of course to reply individually to you all wonderful, caring individuals...). I will be away from internet access for about 4 days, and with the amazing amount of response and inquiries I have received, I figured I should let everyone know NOW I am heading to the Philippines in early January to aid with the relief efforts after two destructive typhoons have hit the area within the last couple of weeks.

The same organization I was with in Thailand after the tsuanmi as well as after Hurricane Katrina in the Gulf States is in the Philippines as we speak. They are working out all the logistics for a volunteer center.

I don't know how long I will be there, I just plan on putting my travels on hold for awhile, and helping out however I am needed.

If any of you are planning on being in the area, or want to come lend a hand, please let me know! I'd be happy to assist you in the details of getting there.

For those of you unfamiliar with this grassroots organization, you can look them up at www.hodr.org which stands for Hands On Disaster Relief.

Would love to hear your feedback....

Well, I'm off to experience a weekend-long wedding at a Longhouse here on Borneo, then will head to Peninsula Malaysia in the middle of next week. It's then off the Northern Thailand to meet up with a couple of friends, then fly to the Philippines from there.

I owe you all a couple of massive emails from the last 5 weeks, but have been keeping quite busy here with not a lot of time to sit down and construct one. Soon, I promise....

Wishing everyone a safe and very Happy Holiday season!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.135s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0676s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb