A lovely trip to the Kapit Longhouse


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Sarawak » Kapit
February 3rd 2010
Published: March 30th 2017
Edit Blog Post

In Asia there are always places to be discovered and I feel like this is probably the country I will choose one day when I will try to settle down somewhere.

Another remarkable place was the Longhouses in Sarawak, precisely in the town of Kapit.

I had to catch a long boat to get to the Longhouse, I went to Sibu town and then boat travelling along the Rajang river till Kapit town.

I love the prestine scenary leading to the longhouse passing a suspendid bridge welcoming you in the village.

They are wooden structures, with stilts on it, divided into different sections and families living inside reach a total of 100 with a living room which they call Ruai.

Every single longhouse have its own history and every tribe has its own category and in Kapit the people are called Iban.

Even here the construction of these longhouses is changing replacing the wood with the concrete to build the foundations.

They live on basic plantation, livestock, hunting, ritual dances and etc.

Traditions and ceremonies are fundamental in their life.

Families in the longhouses have different traditions and practice animism.

They pay respect to their gods believing to bring good harvest and long life.

Ritual dances were performed by the warriors to guide them in the battle with no fear.

That day held no particular events and I have only seen a man sat down on the floor and a few people, on the opposite side, with a baby playing in the house.

I took the chance to explore a bit the surroundings and I felt excellent and seemed to be back in time in this secluded place hidden in the forest where people still live like a long time ago.

I like these kind of experiences where I meet different people with different traditions and customs. I am attracted by diversity and these places are always what I appreciate most when travelling around the world.

Sure a place that I definitely recommend to anyone ending up in these part of the Borneo island for a great and unforgettable experience.


Additional photos below
Photos: 39, Displayed: 23


Advertisement




Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0303s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb