Kapit (18-20 May 13)


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Sarawak » Kapit
May 21st 2013
Published: May 21st 2013
Edit Blog Post

Taking the boat ride up the Batang Rejang, it was indeed 3h in a "cramped space shuttle", as described by LP, before I arrived in the small riverside town of Kapit. Even the "business class" seat that I took that costs 5 ringgit more barely had enough space for my backpack, which I had to lay along the narrow aisle. The boat really did seem narrower and lower than usual, but that seemed to be the generic type used to navigate the river system here.

I'd made the trip here, even though it's a detour, because I'd half-thought I might pay a visit to a nearby traditional Iban longhouse. Kapit is supposed one of the better places from which to organise such a tour. But I say "half-thought" because I'd read that it could be quite pricey, as the trip would involve an additional boat and probably 4WD ride, as well as guide and entrance fees to the longhouse itself. In total, LP put the price tag at several hundred ringgit, which I wasn't going to pay. So I made the trip up just hoping to sniff around for a better deal.

Wandering through the few blocks of the small central town area, I don't think I even saw a hint of any one or agency offering such tours, so I gave up my search pretty quick. Which was just as well since I was suffering from a cold during my time here. So it was just another two slow days soaking up life here in the slow lane, cos Kapit, while relatively bustling in the morning and early afternoon, pretty much crawls to a complete stop when night falls, as almost all shops and restaurants close, leaving just a handful to cater to the hunger pangs of clueless visitors like me.

Stayed at Dragon Inn.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0265s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb