From Sandakan to Brunei: a long journey!


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Sarawak » Kapit
October 17th 2011
Published: October 17th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hello everyone,

So last time I left you when I was coming back from my cruise on the river.

After that, I decided to go back to Sandakan to have some time to write a bit on my blog, take some rest and visit a bit the town , because I didn’t really had the time to do it until now. So I spent 2 days there. I had some nice walks on the sea front, visit the Chinese cemetery which is quite impressive, eat some good food, walk in the water village. Some nice quiet days!

Then after 2 days, I left Sandakan without knowing really where to go and what to do after. That was not a good idea! I headed to the south because I've already been to the north. I took a bus to Lahad Datu (3 hours), then when I arrived there, I realise that there was nothing to do, so I took another bus to Kunak (another good hour). The bus driver drop me in front of a hotel. But apparently, they didn't want me there. They were keep saying "no good", even if I kept saying that I wanted something cheap, but it didn't matter. So a guy took me to another hotel, but I forgot to ask the price of this other hotel! That was a little more expansive than what I usually spend (60 ringgits instead of 25!). I stay in this hotel because I was tired and didn't want to move again. The next morning I took a bus to Tawau, and then another night bus for Sipitang. I spent the day in Tawau waiting for the night bus. There is not a lot to do there, but a nice walk (and a nap!) on the see front and in the streets of the town made me spent a lovely day. After a night spent in the bus, my back was broken but I was getting closer to where I wanted to go! At Sipitang, I waited from 6am to 10am for my next and last bus. I staid with the 2 drivers of the night bus and we had a really good time. They didn't speak a lot of English, and even if I try to speak Malay, I can't really have a discussion, but between their English and my Malay, we still manage to spend 4 hours quite fun. They were telling me about their life here, and I was telling them about my life in Europe. We had a good laugh when we spoke about relationship: they were really interested in the fact that in my country I can kiss my boyfriend anytime I want (and with the tongue!) even if we are not married , and I was quite stunned by the fact that here, you could get arrested if you kiss your boyfriend before being married (but it doesn't really happen often in the day to day life).

Then my bus arrived and that was the last one for at least 2 days! I arrived at my destination: Bandar, the capital of Brunei after passing through a lot of immigration posts! One when I left the region of Sabah to enter in Sarawak (which is still Malaysia), one to leave Sarawak, then to enter in Brunei, then to leave Brunei, then enter Sarawak again, leave Sarawak again and finally enter in Brunei! The explanation is that Brunei is a really small country but it is separated in 2 different regions, and in the middle there is a part of Malaysia.

I spent 3 days in buses or waiting for one. If I had think a bit before, I would have took 2 buses (one from Sandakan to KK, then one from KK to Brunei): much cheaper and a lot quicker! I know know that it can be useful to plan just a little bit if I want to save time and money!

So I finally set foot on a new country: Brunei. This country is a sultanate, which mean obviously that it has a Sultan! Time for my little lesson of history, as always. The golden age of Brunei was in the 16th century when its influence stretched on all the Borneo island and until the modern day Philippine. During the 19th century, the English gained in power in the area and Brunei become a protected state in 1888. In 1929, oil is discover which is going to change Brunei destiny. In the seventies, the price of the petrol exploded which made the country and the sultan really rich. Brunei obtain its independence in 1984. Now this is a really wealthy country. Hospital, education are free, taxation on personal income unknown of... and when you talk to the people there, they are really happy to live in Brunei! And you actually see a big difference as soon as you cross the border; roads are better, house are bigger and everything looks richer!

Bandar is the capital of Brunei. But there is not a lot of stuff to see (especially during the evening, as alcohol is forbidden, that's difficult to find a bar to stay!): there is a beautiful mosque, the water villages and that's roughly it. But you can spend a good amount of time in the water village (where by the way, live 30 000 people!) because there is a maze of street. And if you are lucky, some people will invite you to drink a fresh glass of fruit juice and to visit their house.

I took a taxi boat to visit the water villages and the driver invited me to visit his house and to meet his family, which was really nice of him. Then a bit latter when I was walking, a nice lady had a chat with me and asked me if I wanted to come and have a drink in her house. She has a really nice house! So I met her husband and some of her kids.

People in Brunei are really friendly and smiling. When I was walking in the streets of the town , a lot of people smiled at me, kids were sailing hello... they made me feel really welcome, and that is a good feeling!

But I just stay 2 days there, because life is much more expensive than in the rest of south east Asia and my bank account won't like it!

So I'm on the road again to go in Sarawak, Malaysia and my first stop will be the town of Sibu.

Ok guys, I'll catch up with you latter!


Salut a tous,

La dernière fois , je vous ai laisse quand je revenais de mon excursion sur la rivière.

Après cela, j'ai décidé de revenir sur Sandakan, pour prendre un peu de temps pour écrire sur mon blog, prendre un peu de repos et visiter un peu la ville, car je n'en avais pas vraiment eu le temps auparavant. J'ai donc passe 2 jours ici. J'ai fait des ballades agréables sur le front de mer, visite le cimetière chinois qui est assez impressionnant, manger de la nourriture délicieuse, me suis baladée dans le village sur l'eau. Quelques cool et calmes journées!

Après ces 2 jours, j'ai quitte Sandakan sans savoir vraiment ou aller et que faire. Ce n’était pas une bonne idée. Je me suis dirigée vers le sud, car j'avais déjà fait le nord. J'ai pris un bus pour Lahad Dati (3 heures), puis en arrivant j'ai réalisé qu'il n'y avait rien a faire, j'ai donc repris un bus en direction de Kunak (une autre bonne heure). Le bus me déposa au pied d'un hôtel, mais apparemment je n’étais pas la bienvenue ici. Ils répétaient “no good” , même si je leur expliquaient que je voulais quelque chose de pas cher. Après discussion, un homme me proposa de m'emmener a un autre hôtel . Mais j'ai oublie de demander le prix de l’hôtel! C’était légèrement plus cher que ce que j'ai l'habitude de dépenser (60 ringgit au lieu de 25) Je suis restée a cet hôtel, car j’étais fatiguée et n'avait pas envie de bouger de nouveau. Le matin suivant, j'ai pris un bus pour Tawau puis un autre bus de nuit pour Sipitang. J'ai passe la journée a Tawau pour attendre le bus de nuit. Il n'y a pas grand chose a faire non plus, si ce n'est marcher sur le bord de mer (et faire une petite sieste) et dans les rues, et cela m'a fait passe une agréable journée. Après une nuit passée dans le bus, mon dos était en morceau, mais je m'approchais de mon but! A Sipitang, j'ai attendu de 6h a 10h du matin mon prochain et dernier bus. Je suis restée avec les conducteurs du bus de nuits et nous avons passe un très bon moment. Ils ne parlaient pas un super anglais et même si je m’entraîne en malais, je suis loin de pouvoir tenir une discussion, mais entre leur anglais et mon malais, nous avons réussit a passer 4 heures très sympathiques. Ils me parlaient de leur vie ici et moi de ma vie en Europe. Nous avons bien ri lorsque nous avons parle de relation amoureuse: ils étaient très intéressés par le fait qu'en Europe, je pouvais embrasser mon copain ou et quand je voulais (même avec la langue!) sans être mariée, et j'ai été plutôt étonnée d'apprendre qu'ici tu pouvais être arrêté si tu embrassais ton copain avant le mariage (mais cela n'arrive pas souvent dans la vie de tous les jours)

Ensuite mon bus arriva et c’était le dernier pour au moins 2 jours! Je suis enfin arrivée a ma destination: Bandar, la capital de Brunei après être passée par beaucoup de poste de contrôle de douane. Une fois en quittant la région de Sabah pour entre dans Sarawak (mais c'est toujours le même pays), une fois pour quitter Sarawak, puis pour rentrer dans Brunei, une fois pour quitter Brunei, puis re-rentrer dans Sarawak, et de nouveau pour quitter Sarawak et enfin pour rentrer dans Brunei!L'explication est que Brunei, un tout petit pays est séparé en 2 et qu'il y a un bout de la Malaisie entre les 2.

J'ai passe 3 jours dans des bus ou a en attendre un. Si j'avais un peu réfléchi avant, j'aurais pu prendre seulement 2 bus (un de Sandakan a KK, un de KK a Bandar): moins cher et beaucoup plus rapide. Maintenant je sais qu'il peut être utile de planifier juste un petit peu si je veux économiser du temps et de l'argent!

Donc j'ai enfin poser le pied dans un nouveau pays: Brunei. Ce pays est dirige par un sultan. C'est le moment de ma petite leçon d'histoire, comme toujours. L'age d'or de Brunei était au 16ieme siècle quand son influence s’étendait sur toute l’île de Borneo et jusqu'aux Philippines d'aujourd'hui. Pendant le 19ieme siècle, les anglais gagnèrent en pouvoir dans la région et Brunei devint un protectorat anglais en 1888. En 1929, le pétrole fut découvert, ce qui va changer la destine du pays. Dans les années 70, le prix du pétrole explosa ce qui rendit le pays et le sultan très riches. Brunei obtient son indépendance en 1984. c'est aujourd'hui un pays riche. Hôpitaux et éducation sont gratuits, aucune imposition sur les revenus... et quand tu parles aux habitants, ils sont très contents de vivre ici! Et l'on voit vraiment une différence des que l'on franchi la frontière, les routes sont meilleures, les maisons plus grandes, et tout semble être plus riche!

Bandar est la capitale de Brunei. Il n'y a pas grands chose a faire ou a voir (spécialement le soir, comme l'alcool est interdit, il est difficile de trouver un bar pour passer la soirée!): il y a une mosquée magnifique et des villages sur l'eau et c'est a peu près tout. Mais il est possible de passer pas mal de temps a visiter les villages sur l'eau (ou habitent 30 000 personnes) car ce sont des labyrinthes de rues. Et si vous avez de la chance, des gens vont inviterons a boire un verre de jus de fruit frais et a visiter leur maison.

J'ai pris un bateau taxi pour visiter les villages sur l'eau et le chauffeur m'a invite a visiter sa maison et a rencontrer sa famille, ce qui était très gentil de sa part. Puis un peu plus tard je marchais quand une femme très amicale commença a discuter avec moi et me demanda si je voulais voir sa maison. Et elle avait une maison très sympa! J'ai aussi rencontre son mari et certains des ses enfants.

Les habitants de Brunei sont très amicaux et souriants. Quand je me promenais dans les rues, beaucoup de gens me souriaient, les enfants me disaient bonjour... ils m'ont fait me sentir bienvenue et c'est un sentiment très sympa!

Mais je suis restée seulement 2 jours car la vie est beaucoup plus chère que dans le reste de l'Asie du sud est et mon compte en banque n'aime pas trop!

Je suis donc sur la route de nouveau pour aller dans la région de Sarawak en Malaisie et mon premier stop sera Sibu.

A bientot!


Additional photos below
Photos: 36, Displayed: 31


Advertisement



19th October 2011

hello... great traveler
wow! even as a malaysian local i have yet to set foot out from KK town... and only been to sabah twice in my life. perhaps after reading your blog i should give a try and follow your foot path :) http://lilyrianitravelholic.blogspot.com/
21st October 2011

You should definitly! Malaysia is such a great ccountry with so many place to see! Look like you've seen a lot of country! Where are you from in Malaysia?
19th October 2011
10- Me resting - Sieste

fatigue
On sent la fatigue....trop de marche et de bus dans ce coin. Mais les photos sont belles. Je t'embrasse ma puce. Tendresse. Maman
21st October 2011
10- Me resting - Sieste

Oui, j'etais un peu naze la. Mais j'ai fait une sieste bien sympa bercee par le bruit des vagues, mais reveillee par une pluie tropicale! Gros bisoussss
19th October 2011
9- Seafront in Tawau

J'adore cette photo.

Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 12; qc: 68; dbt: 0.0748s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb