The Jungle Camp..


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Sabah
April 9th 2005
Published: April 22nd 2005
Edit Blog Post

Got the bus to batu 15 for the guest house.This would've been fine except for the fact that the bus dropped me a mile and a half away from my intended stop at batu 14 leaving me to walk up the road in sweaty heat with my pack after a bumpy six hour journey. Ah but there's more about a half hour after I settle in the guest house owner subjects me to a 45 minute whinge regarding previous guests that had complained about her ripping them off for a river cruise (450RM each via her versus the actual 95RM/night walk in off the "street" price earning herself a whopping commission of some 100%!!). It's at this point that I'm thinking perhaps Sabah is becoming a royal pain in the arse to "relax" in - what I havent mentioned is the fact that transport and costs are pretty fierce and info is not easy to come by for independant travellers...

After she's "dealt" with me, an Australian family turn up and I watch as she tries to aggressively sell her river trip to them - they didn'y buy it resulting in a big dummy spit at evening meal when she stopped talking to us - bloody child.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0359s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb