A hard life!


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Sabah » Kota Kinabalu
February 13th 2013
Published: February 13th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Toasted roti kahwinToasted roti kahwinToasted roti kahwin

At Fook Yeung
Sitting with a mai tai watching the sunset following a very relaxing day at my new hotel. What a life!

I had booked into a hotel called the Klagan, but the whole place smelt of petrol fumes. Probably something to do with being hemmed in by two car parks. Staff were completely oblivious to it and despite bringing an iodiser to my room I felt quite high on fumes, with a banging headache and sickness to accompany.

Not to mention they had no pool and no BAR! What am I supposed to do with no bar?

Time for some action. I'm sure those of you that know me well wouldn't be surprised but I could not stay here.

Following a delicious breakfast of Roti Kahwin (bread with butter and kaya) and coffee in china town, I headed over to Le Meridien to see if they had rooms. Fortunately they have some walk in system over here. Brilliant. Another night of water dripping from the grill in the ceiling (ringing alarm bells back to my exams of Legionnaire's disease from dodgy hotel rooms and dirty water systems), malfunctioning air conditioning and petrol fumes, I could not take anymore. Suddenly felt a pang of wanting to return home.

Le Meridien staff were my saviours and soon I was enjoying a lounge by the pool, with beer in hand. All was well again.

Last night I headed to Suan Tian restaurant. It was a huge complex with hundreds of Chinese people enjoying the new year. Feeling a bit overwhelmed I managed to sit myself at a table for ten! Luckily a lovely Glaswegian lady and her daughter (Sue and Moyra) were feeling the same and they joined my table for dinner.

On recommendation of my food bible, together with the chief Chinese waitress I ended up with a delicious tea of chicken wings and hot sauce with prawns fresh from the tank laced in butter and chilli sauce.

Oh dear, another cocktail seems to have appeared! I will have this then head back down to the Filipino market to see what delights are on offer. I'm afraid I've got quite fond of the honey chicken wings.

Looking forward to my attempt at climbing Mount Kinabalu tomorrow, some 13,435 ft is the highest mountain in the Malay Archipelago and 20 th most prominent mountain in the world.

Wish me luck!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Filipino marketFilipino market
Filipino market

Just choose what you want and how you want it cooked


13th February 2013

Hi Lisa Following your journey with my mouth watering every time I read on!!... Sounds amazing. What a friendly place too.

Tot: 0.139s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.113s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb