Getting to know Georgetown/Penang


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Penang
January 2nd 2009
Published: January 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Georgetown (in Penangs) is an interesting place and worth having a look if your ever in the region. Like a good little tourist I have been doing all the regular site seeing stuff. Although I must say I'd be lost without my lonely planet guide (which has fast become my bible), it makes such a difference.

It’s pretty easy to get around on foot (even without footpaths). The roads seem to be shared by all, the cars, the bikes, the food stalls and the pedestrians! The first day was a bit hairy but now it’s almost become second nature skipping in and out of the traffic and around everyone. The ones you have to watch out for are the motor bikes (scooters), some of those guys are mad racing around on those things.

Penang (also known as the 'Pearl of the Orient') also has a really interesting mix of cultures and people. It’s a real melting pot and somehow it all fuses together well and works. Georgetown has two main areas being China Town and Little India and I'm actually staying right in the middle of them at Broadway Budget Hotel on Pitt Street. I was actually booked in somewhere else and when my taxi driver found out she told me how bad it was and suggested this place instead, half the price and twice as good. She even drove me past the other place to prove her point, it was quite a funny conversation actually. It' not a hostel as such so I don't get to interact with others travellers as much but there’s plenty of time for that later hey. It's got a good bed, some drawers, a window (which is impressive cos most of the hostels don't) and a very basic ensuite. The only down side is the cold showers but in this heat it’s ok.

Yesterday i checked out the some of the impressive colonial architecture around town, the temples and also Fort Cornwallis. Fort Cornwallis was built around 1800 but now all that remains are the outer walls. From what I have gathered it was to protect the port as it was the main trading hub in region. I have attached a few pictures that I took as I was walking around. Everything you see is within about 1km of where I am staying as the crow fly’s. The other thing worth mentioning is it feels pretty safe overall. Considering there are a lot of dimly lit streets and dark alleys at night I've felt very comfortable walking around at all hours of the day and night so far.

Anyway that's enough of my Penang tourism spiel for the minute. Basically it’s worth a look.

*** Back again, just found a few more pictures fyi. Cheers ND 4/1/09



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0274s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb