Living the Dream, Batu Ferringhi


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Penang » Batu Ferringhi
January 4th 2009
Published: January 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I finally found it, a nice little cheap beachside guest house (actually on the beach) with a bar and wireless internet access for free. It's perfect!

I had been joking with few mates before I left Australia, that if I found this type of place, i could be in trouble and simply stay there. You hear of people doing it all the time and I can see why. The place is called "Ali Ferringhi's Guest House" and its literally on the beach in Batu Ferringhi nestled amongst all the big resorts.

Once again the rooms are basic ($60 Ringgit per night or AUD$25) and mine has a separate bathroom but it's just brilliant. I've booked in for four days (that's the longest they had a spare private room for) and today is day two. The other funny thing is I found out that the guy I met on NYE from the UK is actually staying up the beach about 300m away, so we've been drinking up a storm again for the last few nights and watching the world pass us by (bar's also open till 3am every night... dangerous hey!).

The part of the beach we are on is a real little tourist hotspot too in Batu Ferringhi, in fact you can pretty much do anything on it you could imagine. Besides if they don't already offer it I'm sure if you were to flash $100 Ringgit around they'd organise it or your in an hour or too, everyone's very helpful and nice. So far I have seen horse ridding, parasailing, jet skiing, wind surfing, 4 wheel motor bikes, beachside massages and the odd hawker stand up and down the beach selling food and drink all within a few hundred metres ( I just had a nice big corn on the cob for lunch... $2 Ringget, that’s about 80c AUD).

The other thing that really surprised me about this place is the food, it's brilliant (I will talk about food in more detail another day.. still having a few issues adjusting to it etc). The food is very much westernised at this place but compliments to the cook all the way. I also managed to get into a bit of a routine every day now, that generally includes a nice sleep in, a few hours work on the laptop in the morning and sight seeing in the afternoon. It's a tough life hey..

Anyway you'll see I have attached a number of pics, they are fairly self explanatory if you read the comments.

Gotta dash, time for another gin and tonic!



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.254s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0655s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb