Penang


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Penang
August 7th 2008
Published: September 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

When I arrived to Butterworth on the train, I decided then to stay a couple of nights in Penang (even though it was not on my plan, but what the hell, plans are to get changed! and it was only a 5 min ferry away from the train station). I have to say that when I arrived to Butterworth I thought I had arrived to India or (Brick Lane) as there was only Indian people there. The majority of Malays are Muslims, but there is also a big population of Chinese that follow Taoism and Buddhist. The majority of the Indian population are Hindus and Christians.
I checked in at 75 Travelers Lodge (recommended by the Lonely Planet) and the owner, Mr Low, was very nice and very helpful. After a quick shower, much needed after being on a ferry and train for more than 15 hrs I decided to explore the town. After getting a map at the tourist office I went first to Fort Cornwallis, which is the historic landing of the city's founder Captain Francis Light in 1786. I then followed a little bit of the heritage trail with different buildings that make you feel back to the colonial era when the English controlled Malaysia.
Malays are very friendly and always ask you where are you from, etc, and every time I say I'm from Spain, they all have a big smile and say "oh, Nadal" or "Oh, Eurocup winners", it is very funny that they follow so much the european football and sports in general (not like me, but I have followed the finals of the Eurocup, Roland Garros and Wimblendon of course!).
The following day I decided to rent a motorbike as I wanted to go around the island without having to wait all the time for local buses. My first stop was Batu Ferringhi, which had a nice beach and many upmarket resorts on one side or the road and cheap guesthouses on the other. The drive there and around was quite good with a windy road.
Then to Teluk Bahang, a little place with a fishing village, and a deserted beach, so I relax there for a while and read my book. Not sure if I told you already, but since I read the Alchemist by Paolo Coehlo in Vietnam, I am reading all his books, and I'm loving them! Then I made my
sign at the fortsign at the fortsign at the fort

senal en el fuerte
way to the Tropical Fruit Farm in the middle of the island. There they show you how they grow some of the tropical fruits you find in Malaysia, but also, and the best, you get a fruit buffet included, so I end up having 4 full plates of delicious fruit, including yellow watermelon, which tastes the same as the red one, jack fruit, pineapple, etc. Thank God there was no durian, but strange as Malasians love durian (I don't know how, as it tastes horrible). On my way back to Georgetown I saw a girl walking on the road, so I stopped and offered her a lift back. Her name was Simone, from the Netherlands, and she was staying at the same place than me, at the same dorm as well. We then decided to stop back in Batu Ferringhi as there was a night market, however as it was still early we went for a walk at the beach and to see the sunset. There we saw lots of Arabs doing water sports, like para sailing, the banana boat, etc, and I have to say it was quite funny seeing the women fully covered in their burkas getting into
the wild horses at the fortthe wild horses at the fortthe wild horses at the fort

los caballos salvajes en el fuerte
the water. After seeing a little bit of the market we then went back to Georgetown for dinner in one of the street stalls, famous in all Malaysia, as the food in Penang is really good. I had the Laksa soup as it is one of my favourite Malaysian dishes (from what I have tasted in London), but I was disapointed as this was not the same at all. I discovered later on that different parts of Malaysia have different laksa soups, so I would keep trying to find it! That night back at the guesthouse I saw a little bit of the opening ceremony of the Olympic Games.

Cuando llegue a Butterworth en el tren, decidi irme a Penang un par de dias (no estaba en mis planes, pero para eso estan los planes, para cambiarlos! Ademas solo estaba a 5 min en ferry desde la estacion de tren). He de decir que cuando llegue a Malaysia pense que habia llegado a la India o asi, ya que solo habia Indios por todos los lados. La mayoria de la poblacion en Malasia son musulmanes, pero tambien hay una gran poblacion China que siguen la religion budista y el
St George's churchSt George's churchSt George's church

Iglesia de St Jordi
taoismo. La mayoria de la poblacion de la India son hindus y cristianos.
Me fui directamente a 75 Traveller's Lodge (recomendado por Lonely Planet), y el dueno, Mr Low, fue super amable y me dio informacion acerca de Penang. Despues de una ducha rapida, bien necesitada despues de estar en un ferry y tren por mas de 15 hrs, decidi irme a pasear y explorar Georgetown. Despues de conseguir un mapa en la oficina de turismo y otra informacion acerca de la isla, me fui primero al Fuerte de Cornwallis, que fue el lugar donde llego el Capitan Francis Light en 1786 (fundador de Georgetown). De ahi segui un poco una ruta con varios edificios de importancia historica, y me dio la sensacion de estar de nuevo en la era colonial cuando los Ingleses tenian posesion de Malasia.
La gente aqui es super amable y siempre te preguntan que de donde eres, etc, y cada vez que les digo que soy de Espana, siempre me contestan con una gran sonrisa "oh, Nadal" o "Oh Eurocopa campeones". Es curioso ver que aqui tambien siguen el futbol europeo y todos los deportes en general (no como yo, pero he seguido las finales
Hainan TempleHainan TempleHainan Temple

Templo de Hainan
importantes desde que estoy viajando, como Roland Garros, Wimblendon y por supuesto la final de la Eurocopa, donde gano Espana!).
Al dia siguiente decidi alquilarme una moto, ya que queria recorrer un poco la isla sin tener que estar dependiendo de los autobuses locales. Mi primera parada fue Batu Ferringhi, un lugar bonito con una playa que no estaba mal (es que despues de las islas de Tailandia...) y muchos hoteles caros a un lado de la carretera y al otro los sitios baratos. La carretera de camino estuvo super bien, y me recordo a las costas del Garraf, o a la carretera de la costa norte (entre arenys y hacia el norte). De ahi me fui a Teluk Bahang, un pequeno pueblecito de pescadores, y con una playa desierta, donde me relaje un rato y me puse a leer un poco de mi libro. Ah no se si lo he dicho antes, pero desde que me lei el Alquimista de Paolo Coehlo en Vietnam, me estoy leyendo todos sus libros, y me estan encantando. De ahi me fui a visitar una granja de frutas tropicales en el medio de la islan. Ahi te ensenan como cultivan varias de las frutas tropicales que se pueden encontrar en Malasia, pero tambien, y lo mejor, es que al final de la visita habia un buffet de frutas, asi que termine comiendome 4 platos enteros de deliciosas frutas, incluyendo sandia amarilla, pero que sabe igual que la roja, jackfruit, pina, etc. Menos mal que no habia durian, y raro porque la gente en Malasia adora el durian (no se como, ya la he probado 2 veces y sigue sin gustarme, que asco, que olor mas desagradable!). De vuelta vi a una chica andando por la carretera, asi que me pare y la ofreci llevarla. Su nombre era Simone, de Holanda, y casualidades de la vida nos estabamos quedando en el mismo hotel en el mismo dormitorio. Decidimos entonces parar en Batu Ferringhi ya que habia un mercadillo nocturno, pero como era temprano, nos fuimos a pasear por la playa y a ver la puesta de sol. Alli vimos a un monton de arabes haciendo deportes acuaticos, como parasailing, la banana, moto acuatica, etc, y he de decir que fue super divertido ver a las mujeres cubiertas de pies a cabeza, con sus burkas negros metiendose en el agua. Despues de pasear un rato por el mercado nocturno, volvimos a Georgetown a cenar en uno de los puestecillos de la calle, famosos en toda Malasia, ya que la comida aqui es buenisima (y baratisima tambien). Yo me tome una sopa laksa, que es uno de mis platos favoritos de Malasia (por lo que he probado en Londres), pero me decepciono ya que no era para nada igual a la de Londres. Luego descubri que diferentes partes de Malasia tiene su propia sopa laksa, asi que seguiria intentando encontrar la que a mi me gusta mas! De vuelta en el hotel vi un poco de la ceremonia de apertura de los Juegos Olimpicos antes de irme a dormir.




Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

How they cultivate dragon fruitHow they cultivate dragon fruit
How they cultivate dragon fruit

Como se cultiva la fruta dragon
The delicious fruit buffet The delicious fruit buffet
The delicious fruit buffet

El delicioso bufet de frutas
Fruit stall on the side of the roadFruit stall on the side of the road
Fruit stall on the side of the road

Puesto de frutas a un lado de la carretera
Muslims enjoying the water sportsMuslims enjoying the water sports
Muslims enjoying the water sports

Musulmanes disfrutando de los deportes acuaticos
sunset from Batu Ferringhisunset from Batu Ferringhi
sunset from Batu Ferringhi

Puesta de sol desde Batu Ferringhi
Goddess of Mercy TempleGoddess of Mercy Temple
Goddess of Mercy Temple

Templo de la diosa de la caridad
Stall selling offerings to the goddessStall selling offerings to the goddess
Stall selling offerings to the goddess

puesto vendiendo ofrendas para la diosa
An English phone both? Here?An English phone both? Here?
An English phone both? Here?

Una cabina de telefonos inglesa? Aqui?
Mansion from the colony eraMansion from the colony era
Mansion from the colony era

Mansion de la era colonial


Tot: 0.284s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 14; qc: 64; dbt: 0.2027s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb