Still in Penang


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Penang » George Town
January 23rd 2013
Published: January 23rd 2013
Edit Blog Post

Sorry - saved the last blog and didn't publish. Should be available now? Still learning how to use this site!

What have I done in the last few days? Back to George Town (UNESCO Heritage part). Day before yesterday went straight to the Jetty from Batu Ferringhi and and booked the overnight sleeper train to Bangkok. Walked back to the hostel with my backpack (I will get someone to take picture of me like that - I promise!). Something like a mad englishman in the midday sun - that's me?

Walkabout during the evening around where I am now. Found little India. Saw lots of temples/churches form the outside. A place full of races and religions. I do like just walking around, looking at people and absorbing. Went to the top of Penang Hill yesterday, then took a really long walk around the road. Did find a Victorian red post box up there! The temperature is hotter than normal, causing a thunderstorm last night (not that I heard it..). Really pleased that I accomplished part one of my tasks I have set myself. Found a fabulous batic material shop. I am planning to buy pieces of material from various places in Malaysia. I am going to learn patchworking and would like to make a Malaysian patchwork to remember this trip. I was soooo hot - thank goodness for cold showers.

Today went to a fruit farm today and really pleased to see how a pineapple grows. Loads to see and finished with a self service as much as you can eat fruit selection and a fresh fruit juice. So yum! Some I hadn't eaten before. Loved yellow water melon and the pineapple was to die for.

For a couple of evenings have found a stall which does noodles. First choose the the type of noodle eg hair or normal or thick and last night I had prawn and tonight pork. Not bad for 1 pound (no pound symbol on this keyboard). Then a fresh lime juice from the next stall at 40p.

When walking to get a bus to Penang hill noticed on a stall a packet of iced gems. 20p I thought was worth having some. Did they taste better because I am here? Noticed some sesame balls also on the stall at 50p. They were lush - like sesame maltesers ie crisp in the middle and a slightly toffee sesame ending.

I haven't been eating a lot. Hostels usually have toast and fruit - water melon and papaya mostly. It is so hot just been have a piece of fruit for lunch (stalls everywhere selling fruit and fruit juice). Then trying various dishes at the stalls on the street.

Bank holiday here tomorrow (Thursday) for a Hindu festival.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0365s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb