Beach Bar Gangsters


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Penang » Batu Ferringhi
January 12th 2009
Published: January 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

If you ever wanna go and hang out at a cool bar by yourself in Batu Ferringhi one day, this is defiantly the place to do it. It's called the LAB Beach Bar and is part of Ali Ferringhi's Guest house were I stayed. The food's is amazing, the view's are awesome and the music was really good.

I pretty much spent most of my five days there hanging out with the staff, in fact it became my second office. The three barman are just brilliant and its worth the trip just to see them and their antics. I dubbed them 'The Beach Bar Gangsters' not because there were bad but they had this cool vibe that only gangsters seem to have if you know what I mean. Don't mind the silly photo's, that’s just them doing what they do best... muck around.

The funny thing I found out on the last day was that two of them have only been there one month and the older guy only six months! None of them had ever done any bar work before but it didn’t really matter. The other thing I couldn't figure out was why the music was also so good all the time. Once again on the last day I asked them and the guy who has been there for six months has been a DJ for the last 12 years...

Anyway I think you get the picture. If your ever in the area or passing by, drop in and say hi for me! Also if you ever figure out what LAB stands for... I'd love to know.. they wouldn't gell me, guess its a local thing..






Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



12th January 2009

Jealous as hell!
Hey Nathan....thanks for sending me your blog details, I'm really looking forward to following your footsteps. Funny how when you're travelling alone, the best people to get to know are the barmen! Brings back some memories of my own. The Beach Bar Gangsters remind me the guys I met in Bali, The Casablanca Bar made the best Black Russians! Oh to reminisce.....I look forward to further reading....good on you!! Julie
3rd February 2009

thanx a lot.....bro
hiii......thanx for d comment that u did in d page...we do suprised with what u had done...thanx again....we appreciated with ur comment...d photo was so nice...ha..ha...we hope u had a great time for d next place...if u changed ur mind our place is always open 4 u.....be back soon.....keep in touch...thanx frend again for ur good comment about our place....adiosss....

Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0198s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb