Hiking The Hills And Enjoying Ruby


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Pahang » Tanah Rata
August 24th 2007
Published: August 25th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The resident guide Bob had us up around 6ish to do the early morning hike. On came the boots, the long carggys, the big old socks all which have been collecting dust in the bottom of me bag and off into the hills.
From the word go I could tell this was gonna be fun, as the mist was still hanging around the hills and due was coating the bushes and trees.
Bob being a local nature guide indulged us all in the flora native and unique to this region of the highlands, with comedy and gesture. The first climb was to a sumit of around 1650m by which time the mist had cleared and you could see for miles around the towns scattered about and the mountains covered with thick vegetation.
A quick break preceded the next step down one hill and up another. Whilst taking photos and listening to the sounds of the jungle I managed to slip and fall flat on my face, covering myself head to toe in thick mud and wet leafs. Not so pleasant but I stood up to a round of applause from my co-hikers. After another sumit we dropped down into a local aboriginal village to see how time is static as they go about their daily lifes, still living off the jungle eating what they catch therein.
Around 4hours the trip took and following a well needed shower I indulged in the great curry in town. The rest of the afternoon I took to the streets to explore before the rain came calling off any plans of seeinh more.
The rain lasted well into the night so a few drinks and a pool competition with Bob and some other residents at the guest house finished another day in my Malaysian experience.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.141s; Tpl: 0.032s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0522s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb