Patsy in Paradise


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Pahang » Pulau Tioman
September 14th 2009
Published: September 14th 2009
Edit Blog Post

We went from Melacca to a town called Mersing, and spent a night there. Then we took a ferry to an island called Tioman. It was a really, really, really pretty beach, with super clear water. You could walk out and snorkel. It was really fun.

What I liked best. There was a morning where we went out and snorkeled. It was incredibly clear. We saw coral reefs and a bunch of different fish. Some coral reefs look like brains, or what you would imagine brains look like - cows have never seen brains before. Some coral were really colorful - blue and yellow and red and pink and green. They would have points and flat spaces and humps. They were really neat, and I’ve never seen anything like it, so it’s sort of hard to describe.

There were fish swimming all in it, and the fish were blue and green and purple and orange. They would swim in big groups, and we would swim right over them. We snorkel in 20 feet deep water, but it looked like it was just in front of us. There were a bunch of black things with spikes. They looked very sharp. I think they were sea urchins. We also saw a sea cucumber, which looked like a big, long, fat blob. It was black with white spots.

The most fun I had. The most fun I had was splashing around in the shallow water. I would put on flippers and just paddle around. I could see fish even right off the beach. I would just sort of swim. It was a really great place to swim, because the water was really clear, and when you looked at the island you would see jungle and flowers and mountains, and the sun would be shining on it really pretty.

The most like home. Nothing really reminded me of home.

The best food I ate. We ate about the same food every day. We would eat at a little café overlooking the beach. I ate omelettes, mostly, and sandwiches some. Purple Cows like omelettes. I would eat a mushroom and cheese omelette. They were yummy. I would drink ice lemon tea that was very limey. It was yummy too.

The weirdest food I ate. We didn’t eat anything weird here, because the only things to eat were at little tourist cafes.

Where we slept. We slept at a little wooden hut that had a bedroom, a pull-out futon room with a little kitchen in it, and a bathroom. It also had a porch which overlooked the beach. It was very nice, and it was set up perfectly for reading and relaxing.

Our little house opened up. There were no glass windows, just these big shuttered doors and full-length windows. When you went out, you had to close up so the monkeys and goats wouldn’t come in. At night you would close up, but the mosquitoes might be in so one night we used a mosquito net that covered up the bed completely, but it was too hot, so then we didn’t use it. The shuttered windows had screens where the cracks were, so the mosquitoes couldn’t get in during the night.

How we got around. We didn’t go anywhere, but when we did, we walked. Where roads might be there was a concrete path running along the beach. People who lived there got around on motorcycles with a little compartment attached for things or people to ride in.

We did a lot of relaxing here. Me and Ella would go to a hammock outside of the restaurant, and read and relax and look at the ocean and the beach.



Additional photos below
Photos: 44, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Rain ComingRain Coming
Rain Coming

This rainstorm was trying to get over the mountain, but couldn't quite make it.


14th September 2009

You are seeing so many things that we are studying about the ocean and coral reefs. We're getting ready for Sound to Sea. Your words sound just like our books at school. You are actually experiencing all of this! It must be awesome! Love you, Nana
14th September 2009

enjoying Patsy
Dear Patsy: I do not know another cow who has had such a wonderful, educational experience - and I have known many cows. Thank you for including me in your periodic blog; I have printed them out for my 97-year-o
14th September 2009

island life
I'll bet Patsy is the first snorkeling purple cow! Think what the fish would see when they looked up at a cow. Actually, Ella's bathing suit is purple, too--but she is very un-bovine looking. We had a little trouble opening this blog, but it finally came through. Love, Gran
15th September 2009

I miss you
dear ella I miss you so so so so much. school is great. on my birthday I got a bike it is blue and white and it has 21 gears- gotta go, more later. Leigh
16th September 2009

snorkeling
Hi, Ella, The snorkeling really sounded wonderful! All of those colors! Also, those sunsets are gorgeous! We have fog these days! Love, Louisa
18th September 2009

Fun st Tioman
What a wonderful paradise! You and Ella must be having a wonderful time. I remember snorkeling at St. John in the British Virgins and how incredible it was. I felt as if I was in a giant aquarium. I also love being at the beach. Have some extra fun for me. Thanks for keeping me in the loop. Love to you and Ella's family from Doris

Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 10; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0444s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb