A rainy rainforest?


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Pahang » Kuala Tahan
April 17th 2008
Published: April 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I left my lovely home in Chiang Mai. it was a very sad farewell, but it was time to move on. I got to the airport and everything went relatively well except that I hadn't known about air asia's 15kg baggage limit (guess you should read the fine print when flying a budget airline). my bag was 18.1kg. I was able to remove enough stuff that i was able to check my bag without having to pay. yay. i left on my jet plane and was excited to get to malaysia. i get through customs and all that without a problem and decide to take a bus that would take me directly to my hotel. it is supposed to be a 1 hour journey and after about 45 minutes, we approached the big city of Kuala Lumpur. That is when it started pouring. like crazy. thunder ad lightening that was so close you couldn't count a single mississippi in between them. i got kinda sad cause i was so happy to have been dry for so many hours after leaving thailand. then i see a guy completely wipe out on his motorcycle. it was insane. the rest of the motor bike guys pulled over under to overpasses since it was raining so hard. that seemed a bit ironic since i had just left a city where everyone was purposelly throwing water at those guys. thhe traffic was so so so so horrible. think LA in the rain and then times it by 11. we finally make it into the city and i recognize that i am near the area of the hostel that i am hoping to stay at. i ask the busdriver a few times and he keeps telling me not yet. soon we are no longer in the same area and i ask him again. we ended up being far away and again stuck i n the major traffic. it really sucked. i wanted to get out and walk with all my stuff in the rain but he kept saying it was too far. the supposed 1 hour journey ends up taking 3 1/2. it was ridiclous. i cried. like for real. i couldnt help it, i just burst out crying that i didnt want to be on the bus anymore. the poor driver couldnt really understand english and i dont think he knew what to do with me (now being the only person left on the bus). he finally brought me somewhere that he let me off and i had to ask a few people and finally found the hostel. they luckily had a room for me and even more luckily, it ended up being lime green.

i chatted with some people at the hostel for a bit about where i was planning to go next and how i could go. i thought i would stay in KL for 2 nights. I ventured out to find some Indian food and found a really fabulous place. all the workers stood right across from me and stared at me while i ate, but it was great-i felt like i was back in India! i wandered around for a bit and got so so so lost that i couldnt find my way back. i was having flashes of newspapers about the American girl who goes missing in Malaysia after eating with her hands. i thought my mommy and daddy were going to kill me if i was ever found. at one point, i was figuring out where i was on my crappy map and a nice enough seeming guy came up and tried to help me. he then pulled out the key to his hotel and told me where he was staying in a really perverted way. eww. like i was going to go there with him! yucko! i said 'i do not care where you are staying' and knocked the key out of his hand. i jumped into a store to get away and met some really nice old people who were really helpful. they said the streets really are safe, but when i gave them a look, they wondered if someone was following me. i told them not exactly and what happened and they made me promise that i would only talk to people inside the shops. i did and they sent me on my way with some more bad directions. i eventually found my way and decided that i didnt need to be in the city anymore since all i would do was shop and booked a trip to the rainforest.

my bus was picking me up at 8am. i set my alarm for 7am and when i woke up at 7:49 i had no idea what happened. oops. at 7:50, just as i was getting out of bed, there was a knock on my door that my ride was there. i told them they said 8 and they would have to wait since i just woke up. oops. luckily i had packed everything up already.

i took a bus for a few hours and then stopped in a small town where i had some lunch. then i got on a super slow boat that brought me into the rainforest. it is amazing out here! i met 2 canadian guys who i will be trekking with. we are going for a 3 day trip into the jungle with a guide we happened to find here. he seems a bit crazy, but just crazy enough to make it fun. i bought a jungle hat to wear and the guys bought some crazy bob marley gear so i think we are ready. i cant wait! except there will be scary crawly animals. oh yeah and it poured again today. like insane amounts. but, hey, i'm in the rainforest!!! ok thats all for now!! wish me luck! oh yeah-one night i will be sleeping in a cave! ahh!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.199s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1746s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb