A Little Bit of This, a Little Bit of That


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Pahang » Cameron Highlands
March 15th 2015
Published: May 9th 2015
Edit Blog Post

There are several tours offered in Cameron Highlands. Since I was only visiting for two full days and wanted to see everything, I decided an all day, "see everything here" tour was just the thing. I was right. Well, mostly right.

The day started out a bit chilly as we all piled into the Land Rover. We drove through a tea plantation (and took early morning photos) before following a narrow, winding road up to the top of the highest peak in Malaysia. We saw several cars driven by drivers not used to the terrain and it made me thankful I'd hired someone with lots of experience and a proper vehicle. (Later, driving out from the plantation, along a windy road barely wide enough for two cars, with no guard rails along the cliffs, I was even more thankful.)

At the top of the peak we got out and climbed up some steep stairs into a tiny tower. I was a bit nervous but it was well worth the effort. The view was amazing. I could see for miles in all directions. I felt like I was as high as the clouds! (Some days, I imagine that would be
Morning views over a tea plantationMorning views over a tea plantationMorning views over a tea plantation

I look a bit happy here.
true here.) Slowly we climbed back down the stairs (ladders, really) and then drove to the next stop.

Next up was the hike in the mossy forest. Our guide/driver explained to us how the moss takes years to grow (so don't touch!) and how it impacts the rain forest. At one point we were standing on a mossy bog of sorts (I really don't know how else to explain it) and we discovered that if we jumped, it moved. It was both fun and a little spooky at the same time. Our guide also explained about all the different types of plants in the rain forest and how they can be used. And how the rain forest is disappearing. It's amazing how many little plants with so much power can grow in such a small space.

Next was the tea plantation and "lunch" with everyone else. We had about an hour to give ourselves a tour and eat at the crowded cafeteria. We all got cake and tea (of course) and then looked around at the tea factory and read up on the history of BOH Tea.

The rest of the day was less exciting, so I
Petting the tea leavesPetting the tea leavesPetting the tea leaves

Just like I did in China.
guess I could have done a half day tour. We saw a strawberry farm (delicious, I must say!), our friend fell through the floor at the strawberry farm (luckily, three women in our tour group were doctors and patched him right up), saw the butterfly farm (meh), market (meh), and temple (I've been to too many over the years).

Then, exhausted, we headed home, two hours ahead of schedule. Fine by us. We all wanted naps!


Additional photos below
Photos: 46, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Zoomed in a littleZoomed in a little
Zoomed in a little

I liked this view.
It looks like velvet.It looks like velvet.
It looks like velvet.

Morning views over a tea plantation
Mossy forestMossy forest
Mossy forest

You can walk on it, but it's more like a bog. It moves if you jump.


Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0537s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb