Pankor Island - Cameron Highlands ...no pictures :-(


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Pahang » Cameron Highlands
January 24th 2006
Published: January 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hey you all,

ok, have some time to write an update. After 2 days walking around in Kuala Lumpur I decided to go to Pankor Island, a small island on the west coast. Had a fab time there, had a room with hot shower and a balcony! Met some dutch people, to be quit short what I did:
- party on the beach with Dirty Dancing music (the music from the movie he...), beers and a nightswim afterwards
- renting a motorbike and explore the island
- rented a bike and had to go back after 30 min as the first gear didn't work....
- sit in the sun on the beach
- met a local fisher and we all (5) went the next day with his boat to go and C them fishing, (first real highlight of the trip) They have a camera under the boat which tells them when there is fish.... so after waiting 4 hours ( jumped from the boat and had a swim to a nice beach in between) we finally detected fish! Great to C how they do this. (making a loop of nets) This fishing trip was not organised so for free and we decided that we wanted to give them something. They didn't want it! On top they gave us a fish of 2kg which we took to a restaurant and had a great meal! Malyasian people are so nice!

After 4 days on Pankor island I took off towards Cameron Highlands, fresh air, nice nature , did a Jungle trek of 10k yesterday and will do a bit more today. On the other hand I will not stay very long as I find that there is a strange atmosphere here....maybe a bit to quit for me, want some action, still 2 much energy in my body:-) . I decided to change my route and go via Thailand and Cambodja to Vietnam. If I don't get stuck and stay on the nice beaches of Thailand to learn diving and kite-surfing...... My plan is...that I don't have one the is longer then 2 day's...

But I should arrive in Malaysia again beginning of March to be able to visit the east-coast and Tamana Negara under better conditions.

In terms of meeting people, no problem. After leaving the Canadian girl and Dutch people (2 man - 1 girl) I was back on my own which was OK. In Cameron Highland I started to talk to 2 girls, again dutch:-), went for dinner together and we had a fab night out! Yesterday met again a man (don't use gay any more😊)))) from the US who lives in China and a Canadian girl...
Of course there are also some strange people touring....or people who find themself so good.......dhaaaaa.....I just avoid them:-) I just want to have a good time and while I wass so stressed the days before I left, I C now that it's not that difficult to tour around in this part of the world. Just take local buses to go from one spot to the other, talk to people and have a rough guide to find a hostel. And the day I don't enjoy it any more I'm back in Belgium looking for an appartment :-)

Well still no possibility to implement pictures...... next time.

cheers
Tim


Advertisement



24th January 2006

have fun like the Devil
heb ook nog een mail gestuurd. veel genot aldaar he Tim
24th January 2006

yeah right ...
... vroeger terugkomen als het u niet meer bevalt, ja dream on! Je hebt daar nog veel te veel schoon dingen te zien, schitterend wat je al gedaan hebt so far. Hopelijk kan je snel ergens foto's downloaden, ben benieuwd. Hier bij ons is het pokkekoud, vanmorgen -7° toen ik vertrok, amai als je een rokske draagt, fris aan de vis ;-) Ginder waarschijnlijk een heel klein beetje warmer? Griets en tot de volgende!
25th January 2006

Timmy does Malaysia
Glad to see that you're keeping yourself amused like :-) the pictures from Africa are great, I'll have to steal some off you. Take care, keep rockin.

Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0457s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb