A muddy day in the Highlands


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Pahang » Cameron Highlands » Brinchang
May 5th 2011
Published: May 27th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

the hike

Over to Berinchang

Wow what a hike, I trekked to the top of Berinchang today and if I thought it was going to be anything like walks I have ever done before I was so wrong! There was a path just, most of the time however it was scrambling over trees, loosing my feet in swamps and overall getting very dirty and wet feet! It really was a hike in the jungle, hard work especially in the humidity but the views from the top were amazing and very rewarding. Then I met an Australian couple at the top after checking their feet a few times trying to work out how they got up here clean and in jandels I realised there was a 10 km drive up, but that's cheating and even though the hike was hard work I'm glad I did it. Then making my way back down the road after taking a side trip and deciding against the swamps again I called at a strawberry farm. The owner took some cheesy photos of me picking strawberries and watered my boots! But the ice cream and strawberries were delicious.
So heading back down the track I was offered a lift on a moped my a Malaysian man, I accepted but had my leg gropped in doing so! Although it saved me a 5km walk. I then met back up with some Germans I had met at the top and headed to a cafe for a rather dodgy meal, then caught a cab back to Tanah Rata.
After catching up with Alex again, a nice shower and dinner I organised a mini bus to go to Taman Negara tomorrow.


Additional photos below
Photos: 40, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.232s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 13; qc: 61; dbt: 0.1671s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb