Please don't send to the puppet making class


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Kelantan » Kota Bharu
September 24th 2006
Published: September 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

So in almost exactly one day we have seen everything there is to see in Kota Bharu.

We went to the cultural musuem (I don't know how to spell that and I can't find a word processor on this computer- sorry) and shopping center, ate at the local eatery, found the waffle place, went to the Thai consultate, and two tourist offices looking for things to do. They sugested Kite and Puppet Making Classes. Seriously. (It's okay- I laughed too, but I really think that is what this town does in their free time). There is no bar, no movie theater, no beach, everything closes at sundown. And I'm scared of puppets. I don't want to make one. Kites I'm okay with (generaly) but there is no wind here and it's too hot to run around in circles to make them fly...

Sigh.

So we are just waiting on our B visa to get approved tomorrow morning. We pick it up at 9am and then wait around for 13 hours until our night bus to Peynang leaves. Then we ferry it over to Langkawi for a week of sun and outdoor adventure! Hooray!

We did however, find our cultural epicenter here. Pizza Hut. They take American Express and have a salad bar (I know what you're thinking, no Ranch dressing, but there is a wierd Lime sauce and Thousand Island. I'll survive- but it's a tough life). We went there for dinner last night and tried to go for lunch, but it's Ramadan today and Pizza Hut, like everything esle, is closed.

Kota Bhau considers itsself to be the Islamic city of Malysia, (hence, no beer) so it really is an interesting place to visit. The prayer calls can be heard everywhere in the town and I really am the only blond kiddo here.

I do have some really interesting phots to send through, but I didn't bring my little connector cord thing to upload them from my camera. So check back in a week-ish for pics.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

See the squid in the top left?See the squid in the top left?
See the squid in the top left?

you pick that out- don't eat it


3rd October 2006

That death poem is very Beach-esque. If you meet someone named Daffy, run.

Tot: 0.143s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 64; dbt: 0.0804s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb