Location Influences Decisions


Advertisement
Macau's flag
Asia » Macau
February 13th 2012
Published: February 13th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Part One (The Interview):

1. Name of Interviewee: Chan Cheung

2. Relationship to Interviewee: Mother

3. Decade of Choice: 1980-89

4. Describe the environment in which you lived for that decade.

During that decade my mother lived in, Macau was still considered a Portuguese colony. Therefore, it was easier to immigrant to other places. At the same time, she was able to find a stable job in Macau to support a family.

5. What major activities did you participate in?

- Immigranting from Macau to America with my father

- Deciding to settle in Chicago, IL after staying and working in many other cities

- Bring my brothers, aunts, and grandparents over from Macau and Hong Kong

6. What were the major social issues of that decade?

1980: Ronald Reagen elected as the U.S. President

1980: First Persian Gulf War

1982: Lebanon War

1989: Fall of the Berlin Walls

1989: Tiananmen Square Protest

80s: Immigrantion waves to US and Canada from Hong Kong

7. What was the biggest turning point for you during that decade? Why?

The biggest turning point during that decade for my mother was when she married my father because then, they started a family. 😊



Part Two (Your Reflection):

1. In your own words, do you think that location has influenced this person’s actions? If so, explain.

I believe that location has influenced my mother's action because it gave her the opportunity to immigrant to America.

2. Do you think your location within the last decade of your life has influenced your actions? Explain.

Yes, I believe that my location has influenced my actions because it has contributed to my perspective when I travel to other cities.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0417s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb