Luang Prabang


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos
January 28th 2011
Published: January 28th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Luang Prabang was not only a welcome sight from the long boat ride, but also a very welcoming town for the travellor. This is peak season and there are plenty of tourist walking about.
Guest houses are everywhere, no need to get a taxi just walk about and you will find them. The prices here I felt were a little high compared to Thailand with some basic guesthouses charging $50US per night. We were offerred a room for $12US per night so we decided to go & see. It was basic but good enough.

But first today, its motorbike time and I have been itching to hire a bike and just ride out into the country. Ride through the small villages and smell the country air (sometimes earthy, sometimes spicey, sometimes smokey and sometimes putrid) but nevertheless always real!
Left hand drive is a bit of a worry for me but I wanted to give it ago anyhow. How hard can it be to unlearn 23years of right hand driving.. right?
We got completely ripped off with the motorbikes but like anything, you learn for next time. Wisen up and become more scrupulous with your choices. We were shown a
A pretty displayA pretty displayA pretty display

umbrellas on sale.
beautiful new bike which I thought was a good price for the day but when they rolled the two bikes out we were getting, one was new and the other was a rust bucket.
I have to say that at this point I could not get the smile off my face. I had imaged this a long time ago, wondered what it would be like and studied the photos of friends who had gone before me. Here I was finally doing it. Another box ticked and it was better than I imagined (ok, so in my imaginings I was riding a better bike but heh this is as good as its going to get for me today anyhow).
The small villages we rode through were mostly raw timber houses which were very close to the road. Chickens & ducks scurrying across the road and children playing with tyres and balls and anything that can be thrown, kicked or bounced.
Men sitting on short stools around a timber table playing a checkers type game with bottle caps while some other men were grilling their catch of the day on a makeshift grill right on the side of the road.
We
Old bikeOld bikeOld bike

you have probably noticed i do like to photograph bikes, especially the old ones.
shared the road with tractors, cows, bicycles, motorbikes and the occasional mini van transporting tourist around. Everything was moderately slow and the country side, whilst a little dry in parts was still picturesque to me as a first time visitor.
We were now entering a range and here I had memories of riding my motorbike around the Tablelands in North Queensland Australia. I remember that free feeling and realised how much I had missed my bike. Any bike rider will tell you that travelling solo on a motorbike can feel so empowering and peaceful.
After a 40min ride uphill we pulled over at a waterfall. This is where all the minivans were taking the tourists and they were here in numbers.
But first, food and a beer than walk it off in the bush.
The waterfall was unlike anything I had ever seen before. This water was aqua! The colour of a chlorinated pool! It looked as though the floor of the stream had been concreted and tiled and chlorinated water was atificially flowing down stream. It looked man made only it wasn't. It was completely natural. This was blue lagoon, the real deal. An oasis amoung the bushland and
Night MarketsNight MarketsNight Markets

I love the background of this picture.
so weirdly out of place. I wished I had my bathers but never thought I was going to come across anything like this today.

Time to go, roll back down the hill and through the villagers on to town. Time to return my beat up bike back to its owner and tuck away another day of memories in my virtual diary.

The night maket that evening was different and again I was wondering around in pain not being able to buy anything. The stalls were immaculate, the merchandise all lined up neatly and tourists all walking in a slow long line wondering what to buy.

As Laos has an obvious french influence there are bakehouse and stalls selling all your favourite cakes and pastries. A treat I haven't had for a while so a quick stop to buy banana bread & carrot cake. Thats breakfast taken care of.

As we departed Luang Prabang, I made a mental note.. "I'm coming back"


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Selling cakesSelling cakes
Selling cakes

I too lined up here for delicios cakes. I am sure there were about 10 french women all excited about there night cap of cakes.
CascadeCascade
Cascade

Still can't believe the colour of this water


31st January 2011

What an interesting day...
Well you both had a very interesting day Min...country-side..I can imagine you'd want to smell frest air and the quietness...Asia can be so full on..loved your write-up..you write very well sweetie...loved the photos..so happy for you..luv ya...xxx

Tot: 0.253s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0472s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb