First solo trip: Vang Vieng


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos
May 31st 2018
Published: June 20th 2018
Edit Blog Post

For anyone who has not been, Vang Vieng in Laos is a must go to especially if you love action packed activities, nature activities, and great street food. This was my second stop in Laos. From Vientiane, I hopped onto a minivan which I booked the night before at my hostel and took that to Vang Vieng. The drive itself was more just long than anything else.

When I arrived in Vang Vieng I spent a good amount of time walking back and forth trying to find my little bungalow which was of my favourite places to stay while I was travelling. I really enjoyed having my own little oasis where I could relax and unwind after such a busy time in my life in China and constantly being among hustle and bustle. This Riverside Garden Bungalows were situated very close to the Song river front and set in amongst nature which I feel like I had been deprived of in China.

Knowing that I had limited time in Vang Vieng (2 days which included travel) because I had planned six days in Laos (not enough time!), I decided to go on an all day adventure action packed tour.
ZipliningZipliningZiplining

Conquer your fears!
Here in Vang Vieng it is super easy to find local tour guides to take you on anything that is on offer so I went on a full day 6 activities tour. The first was tubing in a water cave by pulling ourselves along a rope which was incredible fun, then we went to an elephant cave, then zip lining which was absolutely incredible filled with spectacular views to the likes of Tarzan, then kayaking finishing off with a rest at Blue Lagoon. To be honest, I was extremely anxious about zip lining but it truly was the highlight of my adventure tour. It gave me so much adrenaline and as soon as I had done one, I was hooked for more. The best part was there were so many zip lines we got to do and then finished it off with an abseil down a very high tree but it was absolutely worth the fear and anxiety because the views as I stated earlier were just beautiful; lush tropical forests with beautiful hills surrounding us it was unreal.

After an intensive day out, I figured I still wanted to go out and have a look round. Here they had some really chill bars like Earth Bar which had a nice fire to sit around and great people to chat with because just like me, they were solo travelling. I definitely would recommend this place for any adventurous solo traveller (or any traveller for that matter) also just to go outside your comfort zone as zip lining was something I never thought I would do but turns out I love it!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 39; dbt: 0.0344s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb