Just Hanging around


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Vang Vieng
December 17th 2006
Published: December 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Just hanging out!Just hanging out!Just hanging out!

First time in a hammock!
Vang Vieng oozes relaxation. There is little to do here except gaze at the scenery and be astounded; laze in a restaurant, eating and drinking any number of different fruit shakes or laze (again) in a hammock by the rivers edge, again drinking any combination of fruitshakes, or Beer Lao (mmm).

So, today was a hammock day! In fact, today was the first time I've ever laid up in a hammock and just chilled. My shakes of choice were a banana and coconut concoction, followed by a peanut and chocolate shake. Tasted just like I imagine a Snickers drink to taste, if there were such a thing.

Not a lot to say, other than that. I just read my book, soaked up the mountains and enjoyed the winter sun. I can highly recommend it. Later in the day, tubers started arriving from upriver. Looked chilly by then though, once the sun was low.

So far, I think Laos has been a great place to visit. It wasn't originally on my itinerary, but I'm so glad I came here and would suggest everyone come to Laos. It's so much more relaxing than Thailand, although there are similarities....in that they're
Just hanging out!Just hanging out!Just hanging out!

Such a lazy day. . . but oh so good!
next dor to each other and have similar influences.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

View from my hammockView from my hammock
View from my hammock

Too lazy to even get up and take a decent picture!!


Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0274s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb