Back to Vientiane


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Vientiane
December 19th 2006
Published: December 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday I had a final breakfast with Mark and the Finnish girls in Vang Vieng, before they left. I then checked out of the guest house, had some lunch with a final coconut shake, while watching the Simpsons. All the bars/restaurants have reclined seating at low tables and all show either films, The Simpsons or Friends all day long.

I was hoping to take a rickety old public bus back to Vientiane, for the experience. Supposedly they're so bad that you get given a sickbag when you get on! Sadly, luck of the draw meant my bus was going to be a newer one, not too dissimilar to the bus I'd got from Louang Phabang to Vang Vieng - i.e. one of the decent ones! That didn't stop many people from feeling a little nauseous though. The twists and turns of the road throw you all over the place. The driver must be really strong to drive all that way as the steering wheel is quite sizeable and power steering is a long way off in Laos terms for buses. The Romans would have hated the road builders here!!

Anyway, arrived in Vientiane, found a Guesthouse, dumped my bags and went off to find the tour office where I'd left my passport to get my Vietnam visa. I was hoping to get an early train the next day to Vietnam, but no one seemed to know anything about the bus to Lak Sao, so I hed to spend the whole night in Vientiane.

Today I've booked a bus from Vientiane to Vinh in Vietnam. In theory it should get me there by 10am tomorrow morning...assuming I get the bus, it doesn't break down or I have problems at the border. All stories I've read about this journey I'm proposing!

Vientiane has changed quite a bit already in the few days since I left. One of the main roads' footpaths is now being paved and street lights are being installed along the road. It's amazing how quickly it's changing. I imagine all roads will be tarmacced and pavements paved within just a few months.

PS: Happy Birthday Mum x

Advertisement



Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0406s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb