Savannakhet


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » South » Savannakhet
September 8th 2012
Published: September 8th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I said my goodbyes last night to everyone and left for the bus station at around 7pm. The bus was due to leave at 20.30 but as there were 6 too many people we were delayed by about half an hour and as usual on 'Lao' time we didn't arrive in until 6am this morning. I was the only westerner on the bus and the driver kept asking if id prefer a sleeper bus??

The guest house said if I didn't mind an a/c cold water room I could check in early, given that I'm only here for 1nt I took the room ( Leena guesthouse) and headed out in search of breakfast. I've just come across a great little place called 'lin's cafe' really feels like being in someones home. I've had scrambled eggs and baguette with a fresh OJ. It was lovely. It's right by the catholic church and right in the middle of some lovely colonial buildings. Again the area is lined by the Mekong river offering views Over to Thailand.

I'm going to the dinosaur Museum later and then to see Wat Sainyaphum. Apparently the oldest and largest monestry in southern Laos dating back to 1542.

I'll post photos when I get to an Internet shop/cafe

Love to all xxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.141s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0791s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb