Soaking Culture in Golden Vientiane


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » South » Bolaven Plateau
November 28th 2007
Published: December 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

With the night train to Bangkok full up, I had little alternative but to spend a bonus day in laid back Vientiane, the capital city of Laos. For a capital, its a fairly easy going place and it was a pretty good stop to rest and recouperate following the mayhem of Vang Vieng.

While enjoying the time away from both other travellers and the accompanying revellry and beer, I sat in an open air restaurant at a table by the pavement with my book and enjoyed the peace and quiet and early evening ambiance of the town. After a while, I was joined by 4 passing Irish lads who had been on the bus alongside me from Vang Vieng and before I knew it, there were 15 of them and we were in a shady Lao bar until the small hours. Its amazing how many Irish there are travelling. I reckon they are the most common nationality to come across while on the road, probably followed by the Germans and the English. Its a wonder there are any Irish left on the Emerald Isle at all!

The following day, I wandered around Vientiane to take a look at the
Arc de Triomphe - Vientiane, LaosArc de Triomphe - Vientiane, LaosArc de Triomphe - Vientiane, Laos

Grand Legacy of Former French Collonisation
temples and religious sites and by the end, I realised I'd reached saturation point on the buddha's, shrines and temples front much in the same way I guess American tourists may overload on churches and art galleries while visiting Europe.

I've completely gotten my fix of SE Asia's culture and historical landmarks and with a couple of days ahead in Bangkok before flying on to Japan, Im taking a conscious decision to go out of my way NOT to do any sight seeing while in the city. With my only target there to get a taylored suit, its time to leave beautiful Laos, jump over the border into Thailand for a second time and take a final night train, from remote Nong Khai, down to the expected craziness that awaits me in Bangkok...


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

So Much For That Early Night I Had Planned...So Much For That Early Night I Had Planned...
So Much For That Early Night I Had Planned...

In the tuk tuk en route to the next bar with 6 of the 15 Irish lads...
A Mona Lisa SmileA Mona Lisa Smile
A Mona Lisa Smile

The eyes have it.


17th May 2008

wow!
makes me want to include Laos in our itinerary! oh... if only we have longer time!!!!

Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 17; dbt: 0.0185s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb