Luang Prabang


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » North
December 6th 2010
Published: December 6th 2010
Edit Blog Post

We were finished with the wilderness of norhern Thailand and Laos so we decided to start headed south in search of more fun. We chose the bus instead of the boat because we wanted to save some time and we had just been on the river for a couple hours yesterday. It was as we expected though, all crammed in like sardines with bags on the roof. Luckily it was a short trip and we only had to stop once to let in a monk for part of the journey.

Luang prabang itself is really nice. It's also loaded with bakeries which is not great for my wallet. I ended up having the best apple pudding cake on the plane among other tasty morsels. I will have to try and bake some resemblanse of it when I get home. Matt and I have both developed a taste for he sticky rice over here it seems. You mush it into a ball in your hand and it is quite chewy. You dunk it in other foods or grab other foods with it to eat. We were hoping to find the delicious salsa to go with is but couldn't so we ended up trying different lao foods with it. My green curry was a little to spicy but still very delicious.

After dinner matt and I hit up the night market where they were sellign lots of silk, silver and alcohol with snakes and scorpions in it. I resisted the urge to buy silk because I am waiting for Cambodia, I resisted he silver because most of it was fake and I resisted the alcohol because it was too heavy and I was having internal debates abou supporting killing the rare snakes and scorpions. But then my resistance is only so much and I had to buy one little trinke as a gift.

We ended up spending more money for a more luxurious room tonight to treat ourselves(13 dollars each). So tonight I sleep well. 😊.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 11; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0219s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb