Now I’m ready for the Tour!


Advertisement
Kazakhstan's flag
Asia » Kazakhstan
August 15th 2008
Published: August 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well I finally finished my mt. biking trip through Kazakhstan and Kyrgyzstan and while it was a very tough trip, it was one of the best trips I’ve ever done. I really had a great time! I hadn’t biked much in the past couple of years so I was not in biking shape at all and the first 5 days were really hard on me as they were all long hard rides that allowed no time for recovery. Luckily days 6 and 7 were heli-biking days which gave me the opportunity to recuperate a little! We actually went up in this big old soviet helicopter and got dropped off about 6000’ above our base camp and then blasted back down!

This is a group photo of everyone on the trip. The only thing you need to know is that while we covered over 550km on our bikes, climbing in excess of 40,000 vertical feet, and trudging over two passes above 12,000 feet- everyone of these people kicked my ass up every hill!



Additional photos below
Photos: 35, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Gavin and SultanGavin and Sultan
Gavin and Sultan

Gavin was our KE guide and a former Scotish time trial champion. Sultan was our local and is the former road race champion of Russia...they where both very fast!
Doing my best for internation relations Doing my best for internation relations
Doing my best for internation relations

I gave these guys a chocolate chip Cliff bar
Sultan talking about tomorrow rideSultan talking about tomorrow ride
Sultan talking about tomorrow ride

Every night after diner Sultan would come in and provide us the details about the next days ride...it usually went something like this, "ok, tomorrow we climb, not bad 1000-1200 or so meters, then we cross 16 rivers, then we go down a little, then climb one, two...maybe three hills...not bad only 25km and another 1000 meters...it's easy"
The portersThe porters
The porters

These 3 Kyrgyzstany brothers acted as our porters for twelve nights of camping...the one in the back is named Borat!


20th August 2008

WOW
What an exciting trip!! I bet it hurts after the long ride. And I like the helicopter part, i have never been on one!
7th September 2008

Ready for the Tour?
Hi there! Nice to read from you! I guess I can support with the Logistics part of the French Alps Tour now that you are ready for it!! Riding up l'Alpe d'Huez after the Col du Lautaret should be "peanuts" now! Cheers Sophie

Tot: 0.139s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0499s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb