Kanazawa


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan
May 22nd 2005
Published: May 25th 2005
Edit Blog Post

I was not prepared for the intensity of Kanazawa. I had read about the beauty of Kenrokuen Garden but I did not know the nightlife was hardcore. I spend my days wandering the many gardens the city has to offer, visiting the Geisha district and checking out the bustling Omicho market, but during the night time I gazed at the tremendous energy created by the hordes moving through the tight streets and alleyways. I had to be home by 11pm as I stayed in the home of a Japanesse lady whose house was that of an old Samurai.


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Kenrokuen Garden Kenrokuen Garden
Kenrokuen Garden

The statue of Prince Yamato Takeru
Kenrokuen Garden Kenrokuen Garden
Kenrokuen Garden

the famous Kotoji Latern of the garden
Karakuri Dolls of TakayamaKarakuri Dolls of Takayama
Karakuri Dolls of Takayama

The garden features wonderful flowers blooming all over.
Kenrokuen Garden Kenrokuen Garden
Kenrokuen Garden

Strolling over one of the many bridges in the garden
Little shrine near my MinshukuLittle shrine near my Minshuku
Little shrine near my Minshuku

Loved the colors of the shrine so much I took the photo
found two friendsfound two friends
found two friends

While strolling in the Teramachi district in Kanazawa (looking for the Ninja-Dera temple) I came across these two familiar figures.
The statue caught my eyeThe statue caught my eye
The statue caught my eye

As I meandered the back streets looking for the Ninja-Dera temple, I came across this statue with its mean staring eyes
Partying is hard in KawazanaPartying is hard in Kawazana
Partying is hard in Kawazana

The people party and drink all night thus by morning, some of the nicely dressed business me can be found past out on the streets
Gold Leaf workerGold Leaf worker
Gold Leaf worker

The sheets of gold are paper thin and the workers are meticulous in making the sheets perfect squares which are later used to make gold items like chopsticks, statues, golf balls, etc. After my tour, we are given tea with bits of gold floating in it which we consume.
Omicho MarketOmicho Market
Omicho Market

even around 4pm on Saturday, the market is jammed with people picking up their seafood.
My rental carMy rental car
My rental car

I was told after the fact that this vehicle is a Japanesse hearse
Clock at Kanazawa StationClock at Kanazawa Station
Clock at Kanazawa Station

if you look at it closely, you will notice the time is made up of indiviual fountains of water.
Wedding PartyWedding Party
Wedding Party

While I was enjoying my beer and food at Pilsen, a German establishment since 1968, I noticed a large party coming down the stairs. It was a wedding party. They were from a different country than Japan but I could not understand what they said...but the loved me taking a photo.


Tot: 0.291s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 27; qc: 155; dbt: 0.1501s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb