Take me to Takayama


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan
May 20th 2005
Published: May 23rd 2005
Edit Blog Post

Giant ToriiGiant ToriiGiant Torii

Sunyoung and I under the Giant Torii in Takayama
After riding another bullet train from Mishima to Nagoya, I caught a regular train to the mountain city of Takayama. On the train, I met a Korean girl who was studying tourism at Texas A&M. She was traveling in Japan for a week before heading to Korea to visit family. Just my luck that she also spoke and read Japanesse as a tour guide (especially for ordering food) was a welcome addition for a bit. I will save you all the details and let the photos and captions do the description. One note though...it seems the weather has been cooperating with me as I move. On the days I travel, it seems to rain, but the next day it is sun shine as I sightsee.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Karakuri Dolls of TakayamaKarakuri Dolls of Takayama
Karakuri Dolls of Takayama

These amazing dolls use a similar system to the cogs of a watch to operate. The one in the picture is swining from one trapeze to the next....six in all!
Hida no SantoHida no Santo
Hida no Santo

open air museum of traditional Japanesse houses from the 1700s. In the distance are the Japan Alps.
Hida no SantoHida no Santo
Hida no Santo

The museum is a popular place for school trips. The children yelled "hello" to me as I walked by so I endulged and took a photo with them and spoke to them a bit.
New World ShrineNew World Shrine
New World Shrine

A new sect has emerged in Takayama featuring a hint of Shinto and Buddahism. They have one heck of a temple with a huge gold colored roof (not to mention the star of David).
Big CatBig Cat
Big Cat

Sunyoung and I in front of big cat stature outside Hida no Santo.
School ExerciseSchool Exercise
School Exercise

In Japan, no kickball or jumping rope...instead, they take it a bit more seriously as you can see.
Buddahist on BikeBuddahist on Bike
Buddahist on Bike

As I rode my bicycle through town, so did this buddahist priest.
Bond..James BondBond..James Bond
Bond..James Bond

When I saw this photo, I immediately thought of the James Bond movie when he goes to Japan.


Tot: 0.644s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 31; qc: 156; dbt: 0.265s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb